Language selection

Search

Canada-Costa Rica relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada and Costa Rica enjoy a multi-faceted relationship with open political dialogue, a strong and evolving trade and investment relationship and important people-to-people ties. The two countries share similar views in many areas, including human rights, democracy, rule of law, security and free trade, as well as views on regional and international issues raised in multilateral institutions.

In Costa Rica, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada to Costa Rica in San Jose which opened in 1961. Costa Rica is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa, a consulate in Toronto and an Honorary Consulate in Vancouver.

Political relations

Canada and Costa Rica maintain friendly government relations, with Canadian engagement focusing on the promotion of gender equality, environmental protection, migration and governance, including respect for rule of law and democracy.

Canada supports Costa Rica’s security efforts through GAC’s Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program (ACCBP). Since 2009, GAC has financially supported programming in Costa Rica through the ACCBP, with bilateral or regional projects focused on tackling illicit drugs, corruption, human trafficking and migrant smuggling, cybercrime, crime prevention, security sector reform and proceeds of crime (including money laundering). Canada and Costa Rica are currently exploring options for collaboration on women, peace and security.

Costa Rica remains a strategic partner for Canada in the region on several programs and initiatives to address irregular migration, human trafficking, migrant smuggling, and forced displacement. Since 2018, Canada has collaborated with the Costa Rican Administrative Migration Tribunal (TAM) through a Memorandum of Understanding signed between the TAM and the Immigration Refugee Board of Canada, establishing a protocol for information exchange and best practices related to the refugee appeal process.

Education

Students from Costa Rica are eligible to apply to GAC’s Emerging Leaders of the Americas Program (ELAP). Established in 2009, this program funds students from Latin America and the Caribbean to complete short-term exchanges in Canadian post-secondary institutions at the college, undergraduate and graduate levels. Since its inception, ELAP has funded 76 Costa Rican students.

Trade relations

Costa Rica is Canada’s second largest trading partner in Central America. Canadian exports consist primarily of grain products, machinery, plastics, and preserved foods, while primary import products include fruits and nuts, scientific and medical instruments, rubber and electrical equipment.

The entry into force of the Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement (CCRFTA) in November 2002 enabled the development of trade relations between the two countries. Parallel agreements on environment and labour cooperation were also signed at that time. One of the main objectives of the CCRFTA is to create new business opportunities for our respective countries. Canada recently completed the implementation of tariff preferences under the CCRFTA, allowing goods originating in Costa Rica’s free zones to benefit from duty free treatment.

Canada is committed to working with Costa Rica to diversify trade and reinforce global supply chains, enhance public-private partnerships and promote responsible business conduct principles.

Related links

Development cooperation

In 2012, Costa Rica expressed its desire to join the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), which Canada supports. Canada was supportive of their efforts, including by providing technical support in a variety of areas to help Costa Rica meet OECD standards and norms. On May 25, 2021, Costa Rica officially become the 38th member of the OECD.

Though Costa Rica is not a recipient of a bilateral assistance program, Canada is active through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI), in supporting civil society and other partner organizations working on issues related to democracy, freedom of expression, migration, gender equality and climate action. Canada continues to collaborate closely on women, peace and security and has proposed technical assistance program (TAP) support to assist Costa Rica with the development of its National Action Plan on UNSCR1325.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Costa Rica work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Costa Rica

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et le Costa Rica entretiennent des relations à multiples facettes avec un dialogue politique ouvert, des relations commerciales et d’investissement solides et évolutives et des liens interpersonnels importants. Les deux pays partagent des vues similaires dans de nombreux secteurs, y compris les droits de la personne, la démocratie, l'état de droit, la sécurité et le libre-échange, de même que des vues sur les questions régionales et internationales au sein des instances multilatérales.

Au Costa Rica, le Canada est représenté par l’Ambassade du Canada au Costa Rica à San Jose laquelle a ouvert ses portes en 1961. Le Costa Rica est représenté au Canada par une Ambassade à Ottawa, un consulat à Toronto et un consulat honoraire à Vancouver.

Relations politiques

Le Canada et le Costa Rica entretiennent des relations gouvernementales amicales, l’engagement canadien étant axé sur la promotion de l’égalité entre les genres, la protection de l’environnement, la migration et la gouvernance, y compris le respect de la primauté du droit et de la démocratie.

Le Canada soutient les efforts du Costa Rica en matière de sécurité au travers du Programme visant à renforcer les capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PRCLC) d’Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC). Depuis 2009, AMC soutient financièrement des programmes par l’entremise du Programme visant à renforcer les capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PRCLC), conjointement avec des projets bilatéraux ou régionaux axés sur la lutte contre les drogues illicites, la corruption, la traite de personnes et le passage de clandestins, la prévention du crime, la cybercriminalité, la réforme du secteur de la sécurité et les produits de la criminalité (y compris le blanchiment d’argent). Le Canada et le Costa Rica explorent actuellement des options de collaboration en matière de genre, de paix et de sécurité.

Le Costa Rica demeure un partenaire stratégique pour le Canada dans la région dans le cadre de plusieurs programmes et initiatives visant à lutter contre la migration irrégulière, la traite de personnes, le trafic de migrants et les déplacements forcés. Depuis 2018, le Canada collabore avec le Tribunal administratif des migrations du Costa Rica (TAM) par le biais d’un protocole d’entente signé entre le TAM et la Commission de l’immigration et des réfugiés du Canada, établissant un protocole d’échange de renseignements et de pratiques exemplaires liées au processus d’appel des réfugiés.

Éducation

Les étudiants du Costa Rica sont admissibles à postuler au Programme des leaders émergents des Amériques (PAED) d’AMC. Créé en 2009, ce programme finance des étudiants d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes pour qu’ils effectuent des échanges à court terme dans des établissements postsecondaires canadiens aux niveaux collégial, de premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs. Depuis sa création, ELAP a financé 76 étudiants costaricains.

Relations commerciales

Le Costa Rica est le deuxième partenaire commercial en importance du Canada en Amérique centrale. Les exportations canadiennes comprennent principalement des produits céréaliers, des machineries, plastiques et aliments en conserve, des machineries électriques, et des légumes, tandis que les principaux produits d’importation se composent de fruits et de noix, d’instruments scientifiques et médicaux, de caoutchouc et d’équipements électriques. L'entrée en vigueur de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica (ALECCR), en novembre 2002, a permis un développement des rapports commerciaux entre les deux pays. Des accords parallèles de coopération sur l'environnement et le travail ont également été signés à cette occasion. Un des principaux objectifs du ALECCR est de créer de nouvelles occasions d’affaires pour nos pays respectifs. Le Canada a récemment achevé la mise en œuvre des préférences tarifaires dans le cadre du ALECCR, permettant aux marchandises originaires des zones éligibles du Costa Rica de bénéficier d’un traitement hors taxes.

Le Canada s’est engagé à travailler avec le Costa Rica pour diversifier le commerce et renforcer les chaînes d’approvisionnement mondiales, améliorer les partenariats public-privé et promouvoir des principes de conduite responsable des entreprises.

Liens connexes

Développement

En 2012, le Costa Rica a fait part de son désir de joindre l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économique (OCDE), que le Canada a appuyé. Notamment en fournissant un appui technique dans divers domaines pour aider le Costa Rica à respecter les normes de l’OCDE. Le 25 mai 2021, le Costa Rica est officiellement devenu le 38e membre de l’OCDE.

Bien que le Costa Rica ne soit pas bénéficiaire d’un programme d’aide bilatérale, le Canada appuie activement, par l’entremise du Fonds canadien pour les initiatives locales, la société civile et d’autres organisations partenaires qui travaillent sur des questions liées à la démocratie, à la liberté d’expression, à la migration, à l’égalité entre les genres et à l’action climatique. Le Canada continue de collaborer étroitement dans les domaines des femmes, de la paix et de la sécurité et a proposé un appui au programme d’assistance technique (TAP) pour aider le Costa Rica à élaborer son Plan d’action national sur la résolution 1325 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et le Costa Rica collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: