Language selection

Search

Canada-Dominican Republic relations

Bilateral relations

The Dominican Republic is an important partner for Canada in the Caribbean, sharing a commitment to democracy and free markets. Canada has significant commercial interests in the country, mostly in the mining, financial and manufacturing sectors, and is the most active foreign investor in the Dominican Republic.

The Dominican Republic remains the second most popular destination in the Caribbean for Canadians and the seventh most popular destination worldwide.

Political relations

Diplomatic relations between Canada and the Dominican Republic were established in 1954. The two countries have a good relationship, enabling them to work together in areas such as security and governance.

Our countries are members of several continental and international organizations and actively participate in multilateral forums such as the United Nations and the Organization of American States.

From a cultural standpoint, the two countries are members of the International Organization of La Francophonie, Canada as a full-fledged member, and the Dominican Republic as an observer.

Education

The Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) offers short-term scholarships to students from Latin America and the Caribbean (including the Dominican Republic) to study in Canada. As of December 31, 2019, there were 415 Dominican students in Canada on study permits of 6 months or more, with the majority studying at the college level in Ontario. Since the launch of the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) program in 2009, 199 Dominican students have been granted scholarships for study and research in Canada.

Trade relations

Canada’s two-way merchandise trade with the Dominican Republic was $528.7 million in 2021. Canadian merchandise exports to the Dominican Republic were valued at $285.8 million in 2021, while imports were valued at $252.9 million. Canada's foreign direct investment in the Dominican Republic is significant, particularly in the areas of mining, finance and manufacturing.

Related links

Development

Canada does not have a development assistance program in the Dominican Republic, but provides assistance and support through multilateral programs and through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, which is directly managed by the Embassy of Canada in Santo Domingo.

Related links

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-République dominicaine

Relations bilatérales

La République dominicaine est un partenaire important du Canada dans les Caraïbes, les deux pays partageant le même engagement envers la démocratie et le libre-marché. Le Canada possède d’importants intérêts commerciaux en République dominicaine, surtout dans les secteurs miniers, financiers et de la manufacture, et il est l’investisseur étranger le plus actif dans le pays.

La République dominicaine reste la deuxième destination la plus populaire dans les Canadiens des Caraïbes et la septième destination la plus populaire dans le monde.

Relations politiques

Les relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la République dominicaine furent établies en 1954. Les deux pays jouissent d’une bonne relation ce qui leur permet de collaborer dans des domaines tels que la sécurité et la gouvernance.

Nos pays sont membres de plusieurs organisations continentales et internationales, et participent activement dans des forums multilatéraux tels que l'Organisation des Nations Unies et l'Organisation des États américains.

Sur le plan culturel, les deux pays font partie de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, le Canada en tant que membre à part entière et la République dominicaine comme observateur.

Éducation

Le Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA) offre des bourses de courte durée aux étudiants de l'Amérique latine et des Caraïbes (y compris la République dominicaine) afin d’étudier au Canada. Au le 31 décembre, 2019, il y avait 415 étudiants dominicains au Canada titulaires d`un permis d`études de six mois ou plus, avec la majorité étudiant au niveau collégial en Ontario. Depuis, le lancement du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA) en 2009, 199 étudiants dominicains ont bénéficié de bourses grâce à ce programme.

Relations commerciales

Les échanges commerciaux bilatéraux entre le Canada et la République dominicaine étaient de 528,7 million de dollars canadiens de commerce bilatéral de marchandises du Canada avec la République dominicaine en 2021. Les exportations de marchandises vers la République dominicaine étaient de 285,8 millions de dollars canadiens en 2021, tandis que les importations en provenance de la République dominicaine totalisaient de 252,9 millions de dollars canadiens.

Liens connexes

Développement

Le Canada ne dispose pas de programme d'aide au développement en République dominicaine, mais fournit une assistance et un soutien grâce à des programmes multilatéraux et à travers le Fonds canadien pour les initiatives locales, qui est directement géré par l'ambassade du Canada à Santo Domingo.

Liens connexes

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et la République dominicaine collaborent également de façon étroite dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: