Language selection

Search

Canada-Latvia relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Latvia enjoy an excellent relationship. Bilateral meetings and exchanges take place on a regular and ongoing basis. Canada did not recognize the Soviet annexation of the Baltic States and was the first G7 country to recognize the restoration of Latvia's independence in 1991.

Canada is represented in Latvia by an Embassy in Riga. Latvia is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa. Latvia also has Honorary Consulates in Alberta, British Columbia, Nova Scotia, Ontario, and Quebec.

Trade relations

Canada and Latvia enjoy a mutually beneficial trade and investment relationship. In February 2017, Latvia became the first EU Member State to ratify the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) and the Strategic Partnership Agreement. Bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and Latvia totalled almost $464 million in 2021 with nearly $358 million in exports and nearly $106 million in imports from Latvia.

Related links

Operations

Military engagement

Canada was the first country to ratify Latvia's accession to NATO in 2004. NATO has established an enhanced Forward Presence of multinational NATO battlegroups deployed in Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania and Poland. Through Operation REASSURANCE, Canada is leading the multinational deployment in Latvia as Framework Nation, contributing 540 troops. In addition, Canada contributes to the NATO Strategic Communications Centre of Excellence located in Riga.

Canadian Armed Forces personnel also train and exercise side-by-side with their Latvian counterparts, and participate in NATO Force Integration Units in Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Lettonie

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et la Lettonie entretiennent d’excellentes relations. Des rencontres et des échanges bilatéraux ont lieu régulièrement et de façon continue. Le Canada n’a pas reconnu l’annexion des États baltes par les Soviétiques et a été le premier pays du G7 à reconnaître le rétablissement de l’indépendance de la Lettonie, en 1991.

Le Canada est représenté en Lettonie par une ambassade à Riga. La Lettonie est représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa. La Lettonie a aussi des consulats honoraires en Alberta, en Colombie-Britannique, en Nouvelle-Écosse, en Ontario et au Québec.

Relations commerciales

La relation unissant le Canada et la Lettonie sur les plans du commerce et de l'investissement profite aux deux pays. En février 2017, la Lettonie est devenue le premier État membre de l'UE à ratifier l'Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l'Union européenne et l'Accord de partenariat stratégique. Le commerce bilatéral de marchandise entre le Canada et la Lettonie s'est élevé à près de 464 millions de dollars en 2021, dont environ 358 millions de dollars en exportations et près de 106 millions de dollars en importations de la Lettonie.

Liens connexes

Opérations

Engagement militaire

Le Canada a été le premier pays à ratifier l’adhésion de la Lettonie à l’OTAN en 2004. L’OTAN a établi une présence avancée renforcée de groupements tactiques multinationaux déployés en Lettonie, en Estonie, en Lituanie et en Pologne. Dans le cadre de l’Opération REASSURANCE, le Canada mène le déploiement multinational en Lettonie en tant que pays cadre et y déploie 540 militaires. De plus, le Canada contribue au Centre d’excellence pour la communication stratégique se trouvant à Riga.

Les Forces armées canadiennes s’entraînent et s’exercent également aux côtés de leurs homologues lettons, et participent aux Unités d’intégration de la force de l’OTAN en Lettonie, en Lituanie et en Estonie.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: