Language selection

Search

Canada - Dominica relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada and the Commonwealth of Dominica have enjoyed longstanding diplomatic relations since 1978, when Dominica gained independence. Our relationship is based on multilateral and development cooperation as well as strong people-to-people ties, including tourism and educational exchanges. The natural beauty and remarkable biodiversity of Dominica draws thousands of Canadian tourists to the island every year. 

Canada is represented in Dominica by the High Commission of Canada in Barbados, which opened in 1967.

Trade relations

Commercial relations between Canada and Dominica are modest but have potential for growth. In 2020, Canada’s merchandise exports to Dominica totaled $3.8M, and merchandise imports from Dominica totaled $305,400. Canada’s main exports to Dominica included food products, wood and machinery; whereas Canada’s main imports consisted of machinery and food products. Canadian companies in Dominica are engaged in the renewal energy and software sectors. As the country seeks to diversify its economy through strong tourism and energy sectors, there are further opportunities for Canadian companies in eco-tourism, infrastructure, and renewable energy (geo-thermal in particular).

Related links

Development

Canada’s development program is focused on mutual priorities, such as climate and economic resilience, sustainable and inclusive governance, and advancing of gender equality.

Following the devastating 2017 hurricane season in the Caribbean, Canada announced a $100 million Pledge for Caribbean Reconstruction and Economic and Climate Resilience to support Dominica and the region in reconstruction and climate resilience. This included support for the establishment of the Climate Resilience Executing Agency of Dominica (CREAD), and technical assistance to strengthen the government’s response to natural disasters. Canada also supported disaster risk insurance coverage for Dominica and helped rebuild climate-resilient primary schools. Dominica continues to benefit from Canada’s support to for natural disaster planning and response through the Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency (CDEMA).

At the CARICOM Intersessional Meeting in February 2020, Canada announced an additional $61.5 million in new commitments for resilience, technical assistance and education exchanges for the Caribbean. This includes, for example, the Canada-CARICOM Expert Deployment Mechanism, which provides technical assistance to CARICOM governments, including Dominica, to help diversify and strengthen the economy, build climate resilient communities, and reduce gender and economic inequalities. Canada also provided additional disaster risk insurance coverage for Dominica over the 2019-2022 period, and launched a new partnership to develop climate-smart agriculture on the island.

Canada’ support further extends to regional engagements in areas such as statistics for policy making, public financial management, climate adaptation and mitigation in key sectors for women, and building the capacity of local women’s rights organizations. During the COVID-19 crisis, Canada redirected programming to respond to Dominica and Caribbean needs, including to address gender-based violence, income support and essential services, training and technical assistance for health professionals, as well as supplies and protective equipment.

Dominica also benefits from the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, and Canada’s support through non-governmental organizations. Dominica and Canada collaborate closely in key regional and multilateral fora and institutions, such as the Caribbean Development Bank.

Related links

Operations

Security

Canada and Dominica enjoy strong cooperation in enhancing security in the Caribbean. We collaborate

through Canada’s Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program to combat cybercrime, drug trafficking, money laundering and other crimes. Canada supports the Barbados-based Regional Security System, which provides training to security forces in member states, including in Dominica. In the aftermath of Hurricane Maria in 2017, the Canadian Armed Forces supported relief and recovery efforts in Dominica.

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to global challenges, Canada and Dominica work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Dominique

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et le Commonwealth de la Dominique entretiennent des relations diplomatiques depuis 1978, quand la Dominique a accédé à la souveraineté. Notre relation repose sur la coopération multilatérale et en matière de développement, ainsi que des liens interpersonnels solides, notamment ceux tissés grâce au tourisme et aux échanges d’étudiants. La beauté naturelle et la biodiversité remarquable de la Dominique attirent des milliers de touristes canadiens à l’île chaque année. 

Le Canada est représenté à la Dominique par le Haut-commissariat du Canada à la Barbade, qui a ouvert en 1967.

Relations commerciales

Le Canada et la Dominique entretiennent des relations commerciales modestes, mais qui affichent un potentiel de croissance. En 2020, les exportations de marchandises du Canada à destination de la Dominique se chiffraient à 3,8 millions de dollars, tandis que les importations de marchandises à destination de la Dominique s’élevaient à 305 400 $. Les principales exportations du Canada à destination de la Dominique comprennent les produits alimentaires, le bois et la machinerie, tandis que les principales importations comprennent la machinerie et les produits alimentaires. Les entreprises canadiennes en Dominique jouent un rôle dans les secteurs de l’énergie renouvelable et des logiciels. La Dominique cherche à diversifier son économie en s’appuyant sur ses secteurs solides du tourisme et de l’énergie, ce qui offre aux entreprises canadiennes un plus grand nombre de possibilités dans les secteurs de l’écotourisme, de l’infrastructure et de l’énergie renouvelable (géothermique en particulier).

Liens connexes

Développement

Le programme de développement du Canada est axé sur des priorités mutuelles, comme la résilience climatique et économique, la gouvernance durable et inclusive, et l’avancement de l’égalité des sexes.

À la suite de la saison dévastatrice des ouragans de 2017 dans les Caraïbes, le Canada s’est engagé à verser 100 millions de dollars pour appuyer les efforts en matière de reconstruction et de résilience climatique dans la région des Caraïbes afin de soutenir la reconstruction et la résilience climatique à la Dominique et dans la région. Cet engagement comprend un soutien pour la création de l’Agence dominiquaise d’exécution de la résilience climatique (ADERC) et une assistance technique en vue de renforcer l’intervention du gouvernement à la suite de catastrophes naturelles. Le Canada a également appuyé la couverture d’assurance protégeant la Dominique du risque de catastrophes et contribué à rebâtir des écoles primaires résilientes au climat. La Dominique continue de profiter de l’aide que fournit le Canada pour la planification et l’intervention en cas de catastrophe naturelle par l’intermédiaire de la Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency (CDEMA).

Lors de la réunion intersessions de la CARICOM, en février 2020, le Canada a annoncé de nouveaux engagements d’une valeur de 61,5 millions de dollars envers les Caraïbes pour la résilience, l’assistance technique et les échanges d’étudiants. Ces engagements comprenaient entre autres le Mécanisme de déploiement de spécialistes Canada-CARICOM, qui fournit une assistance technique aux gouvernements de la CARICOM (y compris la Dominique) afin de contribuer à diversifier et à renforcer l’économie, de bâtir des collectivités résilientes aux changements climatiques et de réduire les inégalités économiques et de genre. Au cours de la période 2019 à 2022, le Canada a également fourni à la Dominique une couverture d’assurance la protégeant du risque de catastrophes et lancé un nouveau partenariat visant à développer une agriculture adaptée au climat.

Le soutien fourni par le Canada s’étend aussi à des engagements régionaux dans des domaines comme la statistique, aux fins de l’élaboration de politiques, la gestion financière publique, l’adaptation aux changements climatiques et l’atténuation de ceux-ci dans des secteurs clés pour les femmes, ainsi que le renforcement des capacités des organisations locales de défense des droits des femmes. Pendant la crise de la COVID-19, le Canada a réorienté ses programmes afin de répondre aux besoins de la Dominique et des Caraïbes, notamment de lutter contre la violence fondée sur le genre, soutenir le revenu et les services essentiels, donner une formation et une assistance technique aux professionnels de la santé, ainsi que fournir des articles et de l’équipement de protection.

La Dominique profite également du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales et du soutien que fournit le Canada par l’intermédiaire d’organismes non gouvernementaux. La Dominique et le Canada collaborent étroitement dans des institutions et forums régionaux et multilatéraux, comme la Banque de développement des Caraïbes.

Liens connexes

Opérations

Sécurité

Le Canada et la Dominique affichent une solide coopération au chapitre du renforcement de la sécurité dans les Caraïbes. Nous collaborons par l’intermédiaire du Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité afin de lutter contre la cybercriminalité, le trafic de drogues, le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et d’autres crimes. Le Canada appuie le Système régional de sécurité, établi à la Barbade, qui fournit sur demande une formation aux forces de sécurité des États membres, y compris la Dominique. Dans la foulée de l’ouragan Maria, en 2017, les Forces armées canadiennes ont appuyé les activités de secours et de rétablissement à la Dominique.

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux, le Canada et la Dominique collaborent de près au sein de forums multilatéraux, y compris les suivants :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: