Language selection

Search

Canada-Finland relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Finland enjoy excellent relations founded on people-to-people links and shared values. The two countries have much in common as northern parliamentary democracies with similar geography, climate, natural resources, and technology-driven economies.  Canada is represented in Finland through an Embassy in Helsinki. In Canada, Finland maintains an Embassy in Ottawa and Honorary Consulates in Toronto, Vancouver, Edmonton, Montréal, Thunder Bay, Saint John, Calgary, Halifax, Sudbury, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Québec and St-John’s.

Trade relations

Canada’s bilateral commercial relationship with Finland lies primarily in science, technology, and innovation (STI) partnerships and investments. Key opportunity sectors for commercial growth include Information and Communication Technologies (ICT), clean technologies, the bio-economy, and advanced and sustainable mining.

Finland has a technologically sophisticated and robust business climate and ranks as the world's 11th most competitive economy (World Economic Forum’s Global Competitiveness Report 2019). Among OECD member countries, Finland stands out for its innovation, highly skilled workforce, macroeconomic stability, solid institutions and a world-class and well regarded education system.

In June 2020, the Finnish Government announced a EUR 5.5 billion supplementary budget to support economic recovery. From a Finnish perspective, green recovery opens up opportunities because low-carbon and energy-efficient solutions form a significant part of Finnish exports. Finland’s post-pandemic recovery strategy strengthens earlier emphasis on achieving a carbon-neutral economy by 2035 by placing heavy emphasis on innovation, circularity in production, emerging battery technologies and use of the forest economy to create jobs.

Finland is a strong supporter of free trade and a steady promoter of the Canada-Europe Comprehensive Economic & Trade Agreement (CETA), which it ratified in August 2018. Since ratification, there has been a 33.8% increase in bilateral trade.

In 2020, bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and Finland was valued at $1.6 billion. In 2020, Canadian merchandise exports to Finland were valued at $662 million (down over 5% from 2019), led by metal ores and non-metallic minerals (62% of exports). Merchandise imports were valued at $999 billion in 2020 (down 6% from 2019) led by industrial machinery, equipment and parts (34% of imports). Bilateral trade in services was well-balanced in 2019, with exports of $157 million and imports of $153 million.

Related links

Operations

Canada-Finland relations on Arctic issues are strong. Cooperation takes place predominantly through the Arctic Council, which both countries regard as the leading multilateral forum on Arctic issues. With one third of its territory north of the Arctic Circle, Finland is a natural partner for Canada at the Arctic Council. Officials and companies from Canada and Finland, collaborate closely in the areas of winter navigation, icebreaking, and shipbuilding.

Finland has high-tech Arctic expertise and experience, which provide the basis for frequent exchanges on best practices. Canadian mining companies have a strong presence in northern Finland. Canadian companies are among the largest private sector employers in Lapland, Finland.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Finlande

Sur cette page

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et la Finlande entretiennent d’excellentes relations fondées sur des liens interpersonnels et des valeurs communes. Les deux pays ont beaucoup en commun en tant que démocraties parlementaires nordiques; leur géographie, leur climat et leurs ressources naturelles sont similaires, et ils ont tous deux des économies axées sur la technologie. Le Canada est représenté en Finlande par une ambassade à Helsinki. Au Canada, la Finlande a une ambassade à Ottawa ainsi que des consulats honoraires à Toronto, Vancouver, Edmonton, Montréal, Thunder Bay, Saint John, Calgary, Halifax, Sudbury, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Québec et St. John’s.

Relations commerciales

Les relations commerciales bilatérales entre le Canada et la Finlande reposent principalement sur des partenariats et des investissements dans les domaines de la science, de la technologie et de l’innovation. Les principaux secteurs de croissance commerciale comprennent les technologies de l’information et des communications, les technologies propres, la bio-économie et l’exploitation minière de pointe et durable.

La Finlande dispose d’un climat d’affaires solide et avancé sur le plan de la technologie et se classe au 11e rang des économies les plus concurrentielles du monde (Rapport sur la compétitivité mondiale 2019 du Forum économique mondial). Parmi les pays membres de l’OCDE, la Finlande se distingue par son innovation, sa main-d’œuvre hautement qualifiée, sa stabilité macroéconomique, ses institutions solides et son système d’éducation de classe mondiale et bien reconnu.

En juin 2020, le gouvernement finlandais a annoncé un budget supplémentaire de 5,5 milliards d’euros pour soutenir la reprise économique. Du point de vue finlandais, la reprise verte offre de nouvelles possibilités, car les solutions à faibles émissions de carbone et à haut rendement énergétique constituent une part importante des exportations finlandaises. La stratégie de relance post-pandémique de la Finlande renforce l’accent mis précédemment sur l’établissement d’une économie carboneutre d’ici 2035, en mettant fortement l’accent sur l’innovation, la circularité de la production, les nouvelles technologies liées aux piles et l’utilisation de l’économie forestière pour créer des emplois.

La Finlande appuie fermement le libre-échange ainsi que l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) Canada-Europe, qu’elle a ratifié en août 2018. Depuis la ratification de l’AECG, le commerce bilatéral a augmenté de 33,8 %.

En 2020, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et la Finlande a été évalué à 1,6 milliard de dollars ; les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers la Finlande ont été évaluées à 662 millions de dollars (une baisse de plus de 5 % par rapport à 2019), avec en tête les minerais métalliques et les minéraux non métalliques (62 % des exportations) ; et les importations de marchandises ont été évaluées à 999 millions de dollars (une baisse de 6 % par rapport à 2019), avec en tête le secteur des machines, de l’équipement et des pièces (34 % des importations). Le commerce bilatéral des services était bien équilibré en 2019, avec des exportations de 157 millions de dollars et des importations de 153 millions de dollars.

Liens connexes

Opérations

Le Canada et la Finlande entretiennent des relations étroites en ce qui concerne l’Arctique. Cette coopération se manifeste principalement au sein du Conseil de l’Arctique, qu’ils considèrent tous les deux comme la principale tribune pour la coopération multilatérale sur les enjeux liés à l’Arctique. La Finlande, dont le tiers du territoire se situe au nord du cercle polaire, constitue un partenaire naturel pour le Canada au sein de cette tribune. Les représentants officiels du Canada et de la Finlande, tout comme les entreprises des deux pays, collaborent étroitement dans les secteurs suivants navigation hivernale, déglaçage, et construction navale.

La Finlande a une expertise et de l’expérience en ce qui concerne la haute technologie dans l’Arctique, ce qui donne lieu à des échanges fréquents sur les meilleures pratiques entre les deux pays. Les sociétés minières canadiennes sont très présentes dans le nord de la Finlande. Les entreprises canadiennes font partie des principaux employeurs du secteur privé en Laponie, Finlande.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: