Language selection

Search

Canada-Italy relations

On this page

Bilateral relations

Canada and Italy are like-minded on key global and regional issues and work closely together in a range of multilateral institutions, including the United Nations, the G7, G20 and NATO. Canada’s large and dynamic Italo-Canadian community is engaged in all aspects—cultural, social, economic and political—of bilateral relations. Important business and science and technology delegations exchanged by Canada and Italy have given new momentum to innovative commercial opportunities and partnerships. Cultural and academic exchanges and people-to-people ties are strong.

Cultural, academic and youth exchanges

Canada and Italy have a strong and long-standing academic relationship, reinforced by inter-university and private-public academic agreements that generate new ideas and research projects, build relationships and encourage youth mobility. Canadian studies programs throughout Italy, and the Italian Association for Canadian Studies, further contribute to these important people-to-people ties.

In December 2020, Canada and Italy signed a new youth mobility agreement. This new agreement will improve labour market access for Canadian and Italian youth between 18 and 35 years old by allowing them to work and travel for 12 months; candidates can participate twice for a total of 24 months. Youth will also be able to gain professional work experience with the addition of 2 streams: International Co-op and Young Professionals. Canada and Italy are longstanding youth mobility partners, having first signed a youth mobility arrangement in 2006. The new agreement will be implemented following ratification in Canada and in Italy.

There are two cultural agreements in force between Canada and Italy:

  1. Agreement Between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Italian Republic on Film Co-Productions
  2. Agreement on Cultural Co-operation between the Government of Canada and the Government of Italy 

Bilateral instruments

In recent years, Canada and Italy have adopted new instruments or amended existing instruments to promote enhanced bilateral contacts, travel and business and to facilitate official relations between the two governments. These bilateral instruments cover a variety of issues, from double taxation to airworthiness and judicial cooperation. All bilateral treaties between Canada and Italy are available on the Government of Canada’s treaty web portal.

An updated extradition treaty entered into force in 2010. A new convention on double taxation entered into force in 2011, and its provisions are retroactive to January 1, 2011. In 2017, Canada and Italy signed an agreement for reciprocal recognition of drivers’ licences. Drivers’ licence exchanges will start taking place as Italy finalizes memorandums of understanding with individual provinces and territories.

The social security agreement (SSA) between Canada and Italy, which entered into force in 1979, was revised in 2017. It helps individuals who have lived or worked in Canada and Italy to qualify for pension benefits based on their affiliation with each country’s pension system. The SSA also permits continuity of social security coverage when people are sent by their employer to work temporarily in the other country and prevents dual coverage for the same work by both countries’ social security programs.

Trade relations

Canada and Italy have a strong commercial relationship. The relationship’s greatest potential lies in two-way investment as well as in innovation and technology-based partnerships. The Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement has been provisionally applied since September 21, 2017.

In 2021, two-way trade between Canada and Italy totalled C$13.1 billion, making Italy our 8th largest global merchandise trading partner, and Canada's 2nd most important in the European Union. Canada’s goods exports to Italy were valued at $2.6 billion, and goods imports from Italy were valued at $10.4 billion. Pharmaceuticals, cereals and machinery rank among the top 3 products Canada exported to Italy in 2021.

Related links

Defence relations

The Canadian Defence Attaché (CDA) is the designated point of contact between the Canadian Ministry of National Defence and Governments and Armed Forces of accredited countries - Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Albania, Greece and Malta. The CDA enhances local engagement on a range of issues related to security and defence, and provides support to Canadian Foreign policy and trade priorities on defence matters. More importantly, the CDA promotes interoperability and relationships that facilitate operational cooperation and communication.

Contact information

Canadian Defence Attaché Office (CDAO)

Telephone: 39 06 85444 3551

Fax: 39 06 85444 3918

EmailRomeDR@international.gc.ca

Web: Canadian Armed Forces

Related links

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Italy work closely in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Italie

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et l'Italie ont des positions communes sur d’importantes questions régionales et internationales et travaillent étroitement ensemble au sein des différentes institutions multilatérales dont les Nations Unies, le G7, le G20 et l'OTAN. Les Canadiens d’origine italienne forment une communauté nombreuse et dynamique qui participe à tous les aspects de nos relations bilatérales : culturels, sociaux, économiques et politiques. L’envoi de délégations commerciales, scientifiques et technologiques importantes par les deux pays a donné une nouvelle impulsion à des opportunités et à des partenariats commerciaux novateurs. Les échanges culturels et universitaires se portent très bien et les deux peuples entretiennent des liens solides.

Relations culturelles et universitaires et échanges de jeunes

Le Canada et l’Italie entretiennent depuis toujours d’excellentes relations universitaires. Ces relations sont renforcées par des accords interuniversitaires et entre établissements publics et privés, qui produisent de nouvelles idées et des projets de recherche, développent les relations interpersonnelles et favorisent la mobilité des jeunes. Des programmes d’études canadiennes présents dans toute l’Italie ainsi que l’Association italienne des études canadiennes contribuent aussi à l’établissement de ces liens importants entre les personnes.

En décembre 2020, le Canada et l’Italie ont signé un nouvel accord bilatéral sur la mobilité des jeunes. Ce nouvel accord améliorera l’accès au marché du travail des jeunes Canadiens et Italiens âgés de 18 à 35 ans, en leur permettant de travailler et de voyager pendant 12 mois. Les candidats peuvent maintenant participer deux fois pour un total de 24 mois. Les jeunes pourront également acquérir une expérience professionnelle grâce à l’ajout de 2 nouveaux volets : Stage coop international et Jeunes professionnels. Le Canada et l'Italie sont des partenaires de longue date en matière de mobilité des jeunes, ayant signé un accord sur la mobilité des jeunes en 2006. Le nouvel accord sera mis en œuvre après sa ratification au Canada et en Italie.

Deux accords culturels sont actuellement en vigueur entre le Canada et l’Italie :

  1. Accord entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de la République Italienne relatif à la co-production cinématographique
  2. Accord de coopération culturelle entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de l’Italie

Instruments bilatéraux

Au cours des dernières années, le Canada et l'Italie ont adopté de nouveaux instruments bilatéraux ou amender des instruments existants, afin de promouvoir les échanges bilatéraux, les voyages et les affaires, et à faciliter les relations officielles entre les deux gouvernements. Ces instruments bilatéraux couvrent une variété de sujets, allant de la double imposition à navigabilité, en passant par l’entraide judiciaire. Tous les traités bilatéraux entre le Canada et l’Italie sont accessibles sur le portail des traités du gouvernement du Canada.

Un traité d'extradition mis à jour est entré en vigueur en 2010. La nouvelle convention sur la double imposition est entrée en vigueur en 2011 et ses dispositions sont rétroactives au 1er janvier 2011.En 2017, le Canada et l'Italie ont signé un accord de reconnaissance réciproque des permis de conduire. La reconnaissance des permis commencera lorsque l'Italie finalisera les protocoles d'entente avec les différentes provinces et territoires.

L’Accord de sécurité sociale (ASS) entre le Canada et l'Italie, entré en vigueur en 1979, a été révisé en 2017. Cet accord aide les personnes qui ont vécu ou travaillé au Canada et en Italie à bénéficier des prestations de retraite en fonction de leur affiliation au système de retraite de chaque pays. L’ASS assure également la continuité de la couverture de sécurité sociale lorsqu'une personne est envoyée par son employeur pour travailler temporairement dans l’autre pays et empêche les situations de double couverture des programmes de sécurité sociale des deux pays pour le même travail.

Relations commerciales

Le Canada et l’Italie entretiennent de solides relations commerciales. Les meilleures perspectives découlant de ces relations concernent les investissements bilatéraux ainsi que les partenariats axés sur l’innovation et la technologie. L'Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l'Union européenne a été appliqué provisoirement depuis le 21 septembre 2017.

En 2021, le commerce bilatéral entre le Canada et l'Italie a totalisé 13,1 milliards de dollars canadiens, faisant de l'Italie notre 8e partenaire commercial mondial de marchandises et le 2e du Canada dans l’Union européenne. Les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers l'Italie étaient évaluées à 2,6 milliards de dollars, et les importations de marchandises en provenance de l'Italie, à 10,4 milliards de dollars. Les produits pharmaceutiques, les céréales, ainsi que et les machines ont été les 3 premiers produits exportés par le Canada vers l’Italie en 2021.

Liens connexes

Relations en matière de défense

L'attaché de défense canadien (ADC) est le point de contact désigné entre le ministère canadien de la Défense nationale et les gouvernements et forces armées des pays accrédités - Italie, Slovénie, Croatie, Albanie, Grèce et Malte. L'ADC favorise l'engagement local sur une gamme de questions liées à la sécurité et à la défense et fournit un soutien à la politique étrangère et du commerce canadiennes en matière de défense. Plus important encore, l’ADC promeut l'interopérabilité et les relations qui facilitent la coopération opérationnelle et la communication.

Coordonnées

Bureau de l'attaché de défense du Canada (BADC)

Téléphone : 39 06 85444 3551

Télécopie : 39 06 85444 3918

Courriel : RomeDR@international.gc.ca

Site web :  Forces armées canadiennes

Liens connexes

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: