This Web page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NAFTA - Chapter 11 - Investment

Cases Filed Against the Government of Canada

GL Farms LLC and Carl Adams v. Government of Canada

Claimant

The investors are GL Farms LLC (GLF), a company incorporated under the laws of the State of Delaware, and Carl Adams (U.S. Citizen), President of GL Farms LLC. GLF, through its Canadian subsidiaries, sells milk and milk products for export to the United States, which entails the collection, sales, transport and distribution of dairy products in Ontario.

Articles

  • 1102 (National Treatment)
  • 1105 (Minimum Standard of Treatment)
  • 1110 (Expropriation)
  • 1502 (Monopolies and State Enterprises)

Damages claimed

$78 million USD.

Arbitration Rules

UNCITRAL

Summary

Procedural history

The Claimants filed a Notice of Intent to Submit a Claim to Arbitration on February 28, 2006 and a Notice of Arbitration on June 5, 2006. A tribunal has not been constituted to settle the dispute.

Factual overview and nature of the claim

GL Farms LLC, a company incorporated under the laws of the State of Delaware, and Carl Adams, a national of the United States and President of GL Farms LLC, alleged that measures taken by the Ontario Government and the Dairy Farmers of Ontario, prohibiting the marketing and production of milk by non-quota milk producers for export, violated Canada’s obligations under NAFTA Chapter 11 and had caused damage to the Investors’ investments in Ontario. The Investors claimed that the measures breached Articles 1102(3) (National Treatment), 1105(1) (Minimum Standard of Treatment), and 1502(3)(a) (Conduct of Monopolies and State Enterprises). They also claimed that the measures would result in expropriation of their investments in breach of Article 1110 (Expropriation) if they were not granted extraordinary relief in then ongoing domestic court proceedings.

Status

Inactive.

Legal Documents (all documents are in pdf)

The documents have been posted in the language in which they were received by the government. The Government of Canada has not modified or changed them in any way. As such they have not been translated from the original. They are provided in Acrobat (pdf) files. To view or download pdf files you need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™ a free software that you can download from the web.

Back to "Cases Filed Against the Government of Canada"
Back to the main menu "Dispute Settlement - NAFTA Chapter 11"

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ALÉNA - Chapitre 11 - Investissement

Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada

GL Farms LLC et Carl Adams c. le Gouvernement du Canada

Demandeur

Les demandeurs sont GL Farms LLC, une société constituée en vertu des lois de l’État du Delaware, et Carl Adams, un citoyen américain et président de GL Farms LLC. GL Farms LLC, par l'entremise de ses filiales canadiennes, vend du lait et des produits laitiers pour exportation aux États-Unis, ce qui comprend la collecte, la vente, le transport et la distribution de produits laitiers en Ontario.

Articles

  • 1102 (Traitement national)
  • 1105 (Norme minimale de traitement)
  • 1110 (Expropriation)
  • 1502 (Monopoles et entreprises d’État)

Dommages réclamés

78 millions de dollars américains.

Règlement d’arbitrage

CNUDCI

Résumé

Historique des procédures

Les demandeurs ont signifié une notification d’intention de soumettre une plainte à l’arbitrage le 28 février 2006, puis ils ont déposé une notification d’arbitrage le 5 juin 2006. Un tribunal n’a pas été formé pour régler le différend.

Résumé des faits et nature des allégations

GL Farms LLC, une société constituée en vertu des lois de l’État du Delaware, et Carl Adams, un citoyen américain et président de GL Farms LLC, alléguaient que les mesures prises par le gouvernement de l’Ontario et par l’association Dairy Farmers of Ontario, interdisant la production et la mise en marché de lait à des fins d’exportation par des producteurs de lait ne possédant pas une part du quota de mise en marché, violaient les obligations du Canada liées au chapitre 11 de l’ALÉNA et avaient causé des dommages à leurs investissements en Ontario. Ils soutenaient que les mesures enfreignaient les articles 1102(3) (Traitement national), 1105(1) (Norme minimale de traitement) et 1502(3)(a) (Monopoles et entreprises d’État). Ils affirmaient, en outre, que les mesures auraient pour conséquence l’expropriation de leurs investissements et, à défaut de se voir accorder un recours extraordinaire dans le cadre des procédures judiciaires internes en cours, une violation de l’article 1110 (Expropriation).

État actuel

Inactive.

Documents juridiques (tous les documents sont présentés en format pdf)

Les documents sont affichés dans la langue dans laquelle ils ont été reçus par le gouvernement. Le gouvernement du Canada n'a pas effectué de changement ou modification à ces documents. En conséquence, les documents juridiques n'ont pas été traduits. Ils sont mis en format Acrobat (pdf). Pour visualiser et télécharger des fichiers publiés en format pdf, vous devez utiliser l'application Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™. Vous pouvez vous procurer ce logiciel gratuitement sur le web.

En anglais seulement

Retour aux menu "Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada"
Retour au menu principal "Règlement des différends - ALÉNA - Chapitre 11"