Language selection

Search

Canada-Slovakia relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Slovakia enjoy excellent bilateral relations, largely thanks to Canada’s sheltering of Czechoslovak political refugees in 1948 and 1968, steadfast support for dissidents throughout the Communist period, and the strengthening of Canada-Slovakia personal and family ties since 1989. The community of about 65,000 Canadians of Slovak heritage is a link that enhances ties between the two countries. 

Canada is represented in Slovakia by the Embassy of Canada to Austria, in Vienna. Canada also has an office in Bratislava. Slovakia is represented in Canada by an embassy in Ottawa. Slovakia also has consulates in Calgary, Montréal, Toronto, Vancouver and Winnipeg.

Trade relations

The Canada-Slovakia bilateral commercial relationship has been extremely resilient in recent years. Slovakia has been one of the top economic performers in the European Union, and the economic fundamentals remain strong. Bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and Slovakia reached $817 million in 2018, with Canadian exports to Slovakia accounting for $35 million, and Slovak exports to Canada increasing to $782 million.

Related links

Operations

Canada was the first to ratify Slovakia’s membership in the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO). Slovakia is deploying 152 soldiers to the NATO enhanced Forward Presence battle group in the Canada-led sector in Latvia, as of July 2018. We have also worked together in peacekeeping missions, including in Afghanistan and in the former Yugoslavia.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Slovaquie

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et la Slovaquie entretiennent d'excellentes relations bilatérales, en grande partie grâce à l’accueil fait aux réfugiés politiques tchécoslovaques en 1948 et 1968, au soutien indéfectible accordé aux dissidents tout au long de l’ère communiste, ainsi qu’au renforcement des liens personnels et familiaux entre les habitants des deux pays depuis 1989. Les quelque 65 000 Canadiens d'origine slovaque sont un élément qui renforce les liens entre les deux pays.

Le Canada est représenté en Slovaquie par son ambassade à Vienne, en Autriche. Il a également un bureau à Bratislava. La Slovaquie est pour sa part représentée au Canada par son ambassade à Ottawa. La Slovaquie a également des consulats à Calgary, Montréal, Toronto, Vancouver et Winnipeg.

Relations commerciales

Les relations commerciales bilatérales entre le Canada et la Slovaquie ont été extrêmement résilientes ces dernières années. La Slovaquie est un des pays les plus performants de l’Union européenne sur le plan économique, et les bases de son économie sont solides. Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre les deux pays a atteint 817 millions de dollars en 2018; les exportations canadiennes vers la Slovaquie ont représenté 35 millions de dollars, tandis que les exportations slovaques vers le Canada se sont accrues pour s’établir à 782 millions de dollars.

Liens connexes

Opérations

Le Canada a été le premier pays à ratifier l’adhésion de la Slovaquie à l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord (OTAN). La Slovaquie compte 152 soldats au sein du Groupement tactique de l’OTAN responsable de la présence avancée renforcée de la Lettonie depuis juillet 2018. Les deux pays ont aussi travaillé ensemble dans le cadre de missions de maintien de la paix, notamment en Afghanistan et dans l'ex-Yougoslavie.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: