NAFTA - Chapter 11 - Investment

Cases filed against the Government of Canada

Westmoreland Mining Holdings LLC v. Government of Canada

Claimant

Westmoreland Mining Holdings LLC is a company incorporated in the State of Delaware in the United States. It owns Prairie Mines & Royalty ULC, which is incorporated in Alberta and owns and operates coal mines in Alberta.

Articles

  • 1102 (National Treatment)
  • 1105 (Minimum Standard of Treatment)

Damages claimed

At least $470 million CAD

Status

Active. Canada received the Notice of Arbitration (NOA) on August 12, 2019.

Arbitration rules

Arbitral rules of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL)

Summary

Procedural history

Westmoreland Mining Holdings LLC, submitted a Notice of Intent to Submit a Claim to Arbitration (NOI) dated May 13, 2019, and filed an NOA commencing the NAFTA arbitration process on August 12, 2019.

Factual overview and nature of the claim

Westmoreland alleges that the Province of Alberta’s Climate Leadership Plan (CLP), which sought to phase out all electricity generated from coal by 2030, has reduced the lifespan of Westmoreland’s mines in Alberta and treated Westmoreland unfairly.

Westmoreland further alleges that Alberta has treated it unfairly and in a discriminatory manner by providing transition payments to three coal-fired generating unit owners impacted by the CLP, and not providing such a payment to Westmoreland for its coal mine assets.

Legal documents

This case is governed by the arbitral rules of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL). Documents related to this case can be viewed at the website of the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes.

ALÉNA - Chapitre 11 - Investissement

Westmoreland Mining Holdings LLC c. le gouvernement du Canada

Réclamant

Westmoreland Mining Holdings LLC  est une société constituée dans l’État du Delaware aux États-Unis. Elle possède Prairie Mines & Royalty ULC, qui est constituée en Alberta et possède et exploite des mines de charbon en Alberta.

Articles

  • 1102 (Traitement national)
  • 1105 (Norme minimale de traitement)

Dommages-intérêts réclamés

Au moins 470 millions de dollars CAD

Statut

Actif. Le Canada a reçu l’Avis d’arbitrage (NOA) le 12 août 2019.

Règles d’arbitrage

Règlement d’arbitrage de la Commission des Nations Unies pour le droit commercial international (CNUDCI)

Sommaire

Historique des procédures

Westmoreland Mining Holdings LLC a soumis une Notification de l’intention de soumettre une plainte à l’arbitrage (NOI) datée 13 mai 2019 et a déposé le 12 août 2019 un NOA ce qui a enclenché le processus d’arbitrage de l’ALENA.

Aperçu factuel et nature de la plainte

Westmoreland prétend que le Climate Leadership Plan (CLP) de la province de l’Alberta, qui visait à éliminer graduellement toute l’électricité produite au charbon d’ici à 2030, a écourté la durée de vie des mines de Westmoreland en Alberta et a traité Westmoreland injustement.

Westmoreland prétend en outre que l’Alberta l’a traité injustement et de façon discriminatoire en en remettant des paiements de transition à trois propriétaires de centrale thermique au charbon touchés par le CLP, et en ne remettant pas ce genre de paiement à Westmoreland pour ses actifs houillers.

Documents juridiques

Cette cause est régie par le Règlement d’arbitrage de la Commission des Nations Unies pour le droit commercial international (CNUDCI). Les documents relatifs à cet arbitrage peuvent être consultés sur le site Web du Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements (en anglais seulement).