This Web page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NAFTA - Chapter 11 - Investment

Cases Filed Against the Government of Canada

V. G. Gallo v. Government of Canada

Claimant

Mr. Vito G. Gallo (“the Claimant”) is a U.S. citizen who claimed to be the owner and sole shareholder of 1532382 Ontario Inc. (the “Enterprise”).  The Enterprise owned Adams Mine, an abandoned open pit mine and partially permitted waste disposal site, which it had purchased in September 2002. 

Articles

  • 1105 (Minimum Standard of Treatment)
  • 1110 (Expropriation)

Damages claimed

$105 million CAD.

Arbitration Rules

UNCITRAL

Summary

Procedural History

On March 30, 2007, the Claimant filed a Notice of Arbitration to commence a NAFTA Chapter 11 arbitration on behalf of the Enterprise. The Claimant filed his Memorial on March 1, 2010 which claimed damages in an amount of $105 million CAD. Canada’s Counter Memorial was subsequently filed on June 29, 2010. On August 30, 2010, the Tribunal, after receiving additional evidence from Canada, decided to consider the jurisdictional issue of whether the Claimant owned the Enterprise prior to hearing other aspects of the case including the merits of his claim and damages. The Tribunal held a Jurisdictional Hearing from January 29-February 4, 2011 in Toronto.

Factual overview and nature of the claim

The Government of Ontario, in 2004, enacted the Adams Mine Lake Act (“AMLA”) to prevent the use of Adams Mine as a landfill site for municipal waste. The AMLA prohibited the use of Adams Mine as a landfill, revoked certain regulatory permits and offered compensation to the Enterprise. 

Adams Mine had previously been touted as a potential waste disposal site for garbage from the Greater Toronto Area.  However, the City of Toronto and the surrounding regional municipalities had rejected this proposal several times over concerns that it could contaminate local drinking water.  The Enterprise continued to promote the site to these municipalities for this purpose despite these environmental concerns.

The Claimant alleged that the AMLA breached Canada’s obligations under the NAFTA Articles 1110 (Expropriation) and 1105 (Minimum Standard of Treatment).  He also asserted that he had standing on behalf of the Enterprise under NAFTA Chapter 11 because he owned the Enterprise prior to the enactment of the AMLA. 

Canada argued the revocation of regulatory permits in the AMLA did not amount to an expropriation of an “investment” of the Enterprise under NAFTA Chapter 11.  Moreover, even if the AMLA did expropriate these permits, Canada argued that this expropriation was a legal expropriation pursuant to NAFTA Article 1110.  Canada also argued that the AMLA did not breach Article 1105 as the Claimant had been consulted and afforded due process with respect to this legislation.

Canada identified several inconsistencies in the Claimant’s evidence concerning his ownership of the Enterprise. This led Canada to move for the production of original documents, and to subject these documents to a forensic examination.  The Tribunal, after receiving additional evidence from Canada, decided to consider the jurisdictional issue of whether the Claimant owned the Enterprise prior to hearing other aspects of the case including the merits of his claim and damages.

Award

On September 16, 2011, the Tribunal issued its Award on Jurisdiction.  The Tribunal found “without hesitation” that there was insufficient evidence to show that the Claimant owned the Enterprise prior to the enactment of the AMLA and dismissed his claim.  In doing so, the Tribunal questioned the lack of contemporaneous documents and found that a number of the corporate documents were backdated.  It also questioned the Claimant’s minimal involvement in acquisition and management of the Enterprise. 

The Tribunal awarded Canada $450,000 USD in costs.

Status

Dismissed.

Legal Documents (all documents are in pdf)

This case was governed by the arbitral rules of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law.  Additional documents related to this case can be viewed at the website of the Permanent Court of Arbitration.

Copies of all legal documents posted have been prepared in a language of operation of the Tribunal or Court in question. The Government of Canada has not modified or changed them in any way. As such they have not been translated from the original. They are provided in Acrobat (pdf) files. To view or download pdf files you need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™ a free software that you can download from the web.

The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Back to "Cases Filed Against the Government of Canada"
Back to the main menu "Dispute Settlement - NAFTA Chapter 11"

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ALÉNA - Chapitre 11 - Investissement

Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada

V.G. Gallo c. le Gouvernement du Canada

Demandeur

M. Vito G. Gallo (le « demandeur ») est un citoyen américain qui prétendait être le propriétaire et l’unique actionnaire de 1532382 Ontario Inc. (l’ « Entreprise »). L’Entreprise était détentrice d’Adams Mine, une mine à ciel ouvert abandonnée et un site d’enfouissement partiellement autorisé, qui avait été acheté en septembre 2002. 

Articles

  • 1105 (Norme minimale de traitement)
  • 1110 (Expropriation)

Dommages réclamés

105 millions  de dollars canadiens.

Règlement d’arbitrage

CNUDCI

Résumé

Historique des procédures

Le 12 octobre 2006, le demandeur a déposé une notification d’intention de soumettre une plainte à l’arbitrage contre le gouvernement du Canada. Le 30 mars 2007, le demandeur a déposé une notification d’arbitrage pour entreprendre des procédures d’arbitrage en vertu du Chapitre 11 de l’ALÉNA au nom de l’Entreprise. Le demandeur a déposé son mémoire le 1er mars 2010, dans lequel il réclamait des dommages-intérêts de 105 millions de dollars canadiens. Le contre-mémoire du Canada a ensuite été déposé le 29 juin 2010. Le 30 août 2010, après avoir reçu des preuves supplémentaires du Canada, le Tribunal a décidé d’étudier la question juridictionnelle à savoir si le demandeur était propriétaire de l’Entreprise avant d’examiner d’autres aspects du cas, dont le bien-fondé de sa plainte et des dommages-intérêts. Le Tribunal a tenu une audience sur la compétence du 29 janvier au 4 février 2011 à Toronto.

Résumé des faits et nature des allégations

En 2004, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a édicté la Loi sur le lac de la mine Adams (la « Loi ») pour interdire l’utilisation de la mine Adams comme site d’enfouissement pour les déchets municipaux. La Loi interdisait l’utilisation de la mine Adams comme site d’enfouissement, révoquait certains permis réglementaires et offrait un dédommagement à l’Entreprise. 

Avant cela, on avait vanté la mine Adams comme site d’enfouissement potentiel pour les déchets de la région du Grand Toronto. Toutefois, la ville de Toronto et les municipalités régionales avoisinantes avaient rejeté la proposition à plusieurs reprises, car on craignait que cela puisse contaminer l’eau potable locale. L’Entreprise avait continué à promouvoir le site à ces municipalités à cette fin malgré les préoccupations environnementales.     

Le demandeur alléguait que la Loi allait à l’encontre des obligations du Canada en vertu des articles 1110 (Expropriation) et 1105 (Norme minimale de traitement) de l’ALÉNA. Il alléguait également qu’il avait la qualité pour agir au nom de l’Entreprise en vertu du Chapitre 11 de l’ALENA parce qu’il était propriétaire de l’Entreprise avant l’adoption de la Loi.

Le Canada a fait valoir que la révocation des permis réglementaires dans la Loi ne constituait pas une expropriation d’un « investissement » de l’Entreprise en vertu du Chapitre 11. De plus, même si ces permis étaient expropriés en vertu de la Loi, le Canada faisait valoir qu’il s’agissait d’une expropriation légale en vertu de l’article 1110 de l’ALÉNA. Le Canada faisait aussi valoir que la Loi ne contrevenait pas à l’article 1105 étant donné que le demandeur avait été consulté et avait bénéficié de l’application régulière de la loi.

Le Canada a cerné plusieurs incohérences dans la preuve du demandeur concernant la propriété de l’Entreprise. Cela a amené le Canada à demander que les documents originaux soient présentés et soumis à une expertise judiciaire. Le Tribunal, après avoir reçu des preuves additionnelles du Canada, a décidé d’étudier la question juridictionnelle à savoir si le demandeur était propriétaire de l’Entreprise avant d’examiner d’autres aspects de la cause, dont le bien-fondé de sa plainte et les dommages.

La sentence

Le Tribunal a rendu sa sentence le 16 septembre 2011. Il a conclu sans hésitation qu’il n’y avait pas suffisamment de preuves pour démontrer que le demandeur était propriétaire de l’Entreprise avant l’adoption de la Loi et a rejeté sa plainte. Ce faisant, le Tribunal a mis en cause l’absence de documents contemporains et a constaté que plusieurs des documents de l’Entreprise étaient antidatés. Il a également émis des doutes en ce qui concerne la participation minimale du demandeur à l’acquisition et à la gestion de l’Entreprise. 

Le Tribunal a accordé 450 000 dollars américains au Canada pour les frais. 

État actuel

Rejetée.

Documents juridiques (tous les documents sont présentés en format pdf)

Cet arbitrage a été régi selon le règlement d'arbitrage de la Commission des Nations Unies pour le droit commercial international (CNUDCI). Pour obtenir des documents supplémentaires relatifs à cet arbitrage, veuillez consulter le site Web de la Cour permanente d’arbitrage.

Les copies de tous les documents juridiques affichés dans les archives sont préparées dans une des langues de fonctionnement du Tribunal ou de la cour qui préside. Le gouvernement du Canada n'a pas effectué de changement ou modification à ces documents. En conséquence, les documents juridiques n'ont pas été traduits. Ils sont mis en format Acrobat (pdf). Pour visualiser et télécharger des fichiers publiés en format pdf, vous devez utiliser l'application Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™. Vous pouvez vous procurer ce logiciel gratuitement sur le web.

Le gouvernement du Canada n’assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l’actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n’est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l’accessibilité.

En anglais seulement

Retour aux "Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada"
Retour au menu principal "Règlement des différends - ALÉNA - Chapitre 11"