NAFTA - Chapter 11 - Investment

Cases filed against the Government of Canada

Mercer International Inc. v. Government of Canada

Claimant

Mercer International Inc. (“Mercer”) is a U.S. publicly traded company that is incorporated in Washington. Mercer, through Zellstoff Celgar Limited Partnership situated in Castlegar, British Columbia (“Celgar”), owns and operates a northern bleached softwood kraft pulp mill that is capable of producing electricity.

Articles

  • 1102 (National Treatment)
  • 1103 (Most-Favoured Nation Treatment)
  • 1105 (Minimum Standard of Treatment)

Damages claimed

$232 million CAD

Status

Won. Tribunal dismissed the claim and awarded $9 million CAD in costs to Canada. Mercer has requested that the Tribunal render a Supplementary Decision.

Arbitration rules

ICSID Additional Facility Rules

Summary

Procedural history

On January 26, 2012, Mercer International served a Notice of Intent to Submit a Claim to Arbitration on the Government of Canada, which they followed on April 30, 2012 with a Notice of Arbitration. The parties exchanged two rounds of written pleadings, the most recent of which was Canada’s Rejoinder, filed on March 31 2015. The Tribunal held a hearing on jurisdiction, merits and damages in Washington, D.C. in July 2015. On November 18, 2015, the Tribunal permitted the parties to file short post-hearing briefs and requested that the parties file simultaneous submissions on costs by March 15, 2016. On March 6, 2018, the Tribunal released its final award which found in favour of Canada and awarded costs.

Factual overview and nature of the claim

Mercer’s claim arose from its dual role as both a producer and a consumer of electricity. At issue was the extent to which Celgar was permitted to sell its own self-generated power at market-based rates while purchasing power at typically lower, embedded-cost rates to meet its own needs. Celgar sold some of its electricity to BC Hydro under an Electricity Purchase Agreement it entered into following BC Hydro’s Bioenergy Call for Power in 2008.

Mercer alleged that BC Hydro, with B.C. Utilities Commission approval, entered into preferential Energy Purchase Agreements with other mills to purchase some or all of the power they generate, while BC Hydro supplied them with embedded cost energy. It alleged that these agreements provided benefits to its competitors that it was denied, causing Canada to be in breach of its obligations under the NAFTA, and claimed damages in the amount of $232 million CAD.

Canada argued that much of the Claimant’s claim fell outside the tribunal’s jurisdiction or was inadmissible because it fell within the procurement exception in NAFTA Article 1108(7)(a); was not an exercise of delegated governmental authority by a state enterprise as defined in NAFTA Article 1503(2); and was accorded more than three years prior to the Claimant’s submission of the claim, thereby rendering it time-barred under NAFTA Articles 1116(2) and 1117(2). Canada also argued that the treatment accorded to the Claimant was consistent with Article 1102 (National Treatment), Article 1103 (Most-Favoured Nation Treatment) and Article 1105 (Minimum Standard of Treatment). Finally, Canada argued that the Claimant had suffered no damages, and requested that the Tribunal dismiss the claims and grant Canada its costs in the arbitration.

Award

On March 6, 2018, the NAFTA Tribunal issued its Award dismissing Mercer’s claims against Canada. With regard to jurisdiction and admissibility, the Tribunal decided that it only had jurisdiction to decide the merits of: (i) Mercer’s claims alleging discriminatory treatment concerning Celgar’s Generator Baseline under Article 1105 (as advocated by Mercer); and (ii) Mercer’s claims concerning B.C. Utilities Commission Order G-48-09 under NAFTA Articles 1102, 1103 and 1105(1). The Tribunal upheld the remainder of Canada's jurisdictional objections – including that any non-discriminatory allegations with respect to Celgar's Generator Baseline in its Electricity Purchase Agreement were time-barred, and that BC Hydro's purchase of electricity in that same agreement was procurement in the sense of NAFTA Article 1108(7).

As to the merits of the claims concerning Celgar’s Generator Baseline, the Tribunal dismissed all such claims under NAFTA Articles 1102, 1103, 1105(1) and 1503(2). Regarding the merits of the claims concerning B.C. Utilities Commission Order G-48-09, under which Celgar's use of its self-generated electricity and sales to third parties were regulated, the Tribunal dismissed all such claims under NAFTA Articles 1102, 1103, and 1105(1). As a result, the Tribunal dismissed Mercer's claim for damages.

The Tribunal Award also ordered Mercer to pay Canada $9,000,000 CAD to cover legal costs and expenses incurred by Canada during the arbitration.

Legal Documents (all documents are in pdf)

This case was governed by the Additional Facility rules of the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID). Documents related to this case can be viewed at the website of International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes.

Copies of all legal documents posted have been prepared in a language of operation of the Tribunal or Court in question. The Government of Canada has not modified or changed them in any way. As such they have not been translated from the original. They are provided in Acrobat (pdf) files. To view or download pdf files you need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™ a free software that you can download from the web.

The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Back to "Cases Filed Against the Government of Canada"
Back to the main menu "Dispute Settlement - NAFTA Chapter 11"

ALÉNA - Chapitre 11 - Investissement

Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada

Mercer International Inc. c. le Gouvernement du Canada

Demandeur

Mercer International Inc. (« Mercer ») est une entreprise américaine dont les actions sont cotées en bourse et qui est constituée en société dans l’État de Washington.  Par l’intermédiaire de Zellstoff Celgar Limited Partnership (« Celgar »),  qui est établie à Castlegar, en Colombie-Britannique, Mercer possède et exploite une usine de pâte kraft blanchie de résineux de l’hémisphère Nord qui est capable de produire de l’électricité.

Articles

  • 1102 (Traitement national)
  • 1103 (Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée)
  • 1105 (Norme minimale de traitement)

Dommages réclamés

232 millions de dollars canadiens.

Règlement d’arbitrage

Règlement du mécanisme supplémentaire du CIRDI

Résumé

Historique des procédures

Le 26 janvier 2012, Mercer International a déposé une notification d’intention de soumettre une plainte à l’arbitrage à l’égard du gouvernement du Canada, et une notification d’arbitrage le 30 avril 2012. Les parties ont échangé deux séries d’actes de procédure, la plus récente étant la duplique du Canada, déposée le 31 mars 2015. Le tribunal a tenu une audience sur la compétence, le fond et les dommages à Washington, D.C. en juillet 2015. Le 18 novembre 2015, le tribunal a permis aux parties de déposer de brefs mémoires consécutifs aux audiences, au plus tard le 7 janvier 2016 dans le cas du Demandeur, et d’ici au 26 février 2016 dans le cas du Canada. Le tribunal a également demandé que les parties présentent simultanément leurs observations sur les dépens d’ici le 15 mars 2016.

Résumé des faits et nature des allégations

La demande de Mercer découle de son rôle double en tant que producteur et consommateur d’électricité. La question en litige porte sur la mesure dans laquelle Celgar est autorisée à vendre l’électricité qu’elle a elle-même produite aux tarifs du marché tout en achetant de l’électricité à des tarifs généralement plus bas fixés en fonction des coûts inévitables pour répondre à ses propres besoins. Celgar vend une partie de son électricité à BC Hydro dans le cadre d’un contrat d’achat d’électricité conclu à la suite de l’appel à la production de bioénergie de BC Hydro en 2008.

Mercer allègue que BC Hydro, avec l’approbation de la B.C. Utilities Commission,  a conclu des ententes d’achat d’énergie à taux préférentiel avec d’autres usines pour acheter la totalité ou une partie de l’électricité qu’elles génèrent, alors que BC Hydro leur fournit de l’énergie dont le tarif est fixé en fonction des coûts inévitables. Mercer allègue que ces ententes procurent des avantages à ses concurrents qu’elle s’est vu refuser, ce qui fait que le Canada manque à ses obligations en vertu de l’ALÉNA, et réclame des dommages-intérêts de 232 millions de dollars canadiens.

Le Canada fait valoir qu’une grande partie de la réclamation du demandeur ne relève pas de la compétence du tribunal ou est inadmissible parce qu’elle est visée par l’exception pour les marchés publics contenue dans l’alinéa 1108(7)a) de l’ALÉNA; ne constitue pas un exercice de pouvoirs gouvernementaux délégués par une entreprise d’État aux termes du paragraphe 1503(2) de l’ALÉNA; et a été accordée plus de trois ans avant que le Demandeur ne présente sa réclamation, ce qui fait que le délai prescrit pour la présentation de la demande en vertu des paragraphes 1116(2) et 1117(2) de l’ALÉNA est expiré. Le Canada fait également valoir que le traitement accordé au Demandeur était conforme à l’article 1102 (Traitement national), à l’article 1103 (Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée) et à l’article 1105 (Norme minimale de traitement). Enfin, le Canada soutient que le Demandeur n’a subi aucun dommage, et demande que le tribunal rejette ses demandes et accorde au Canada ses dépens dans l’arbitrage.

État actuel

Active.

Documents juridiques (tous les documents sont présentés en format pdf)

Cet arbitrage est régi selon le Règlement du mécanisme supplémentaire du Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements (CIRDI). Pour obtenir des documents supplémentaires relatifs à cet arbitrage, veuillez consulter le site Web du CIRDI.

Les copies de tous les documents juridiques affichés sont préparées dans une des langues de fonctionnement du Tribunal ou de la cour qui préside. Le gouvernement du Canada n'a pas effectué de changement ou modification à ces documents. En conséquence, les documents juridiques n'ont pas été traduits. Ils sont mis en format Acrobat (pdf). Pour visualiser et télécharger des fichiers publiés en format pdf, vous devez utiliser l'application Adobe® Acrobat® Reader™. Vous pouvez vous procurer ce logiciel gratuitement sur le web.

Le gouvernement du Canada n’assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l’actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n’est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l’accessibilité.

En anglais seulement

Retour aux "Poursuites contre le Gouvernement du Canada"
Retour au menu principal "Règlement des différends - ALÉNA - Chapitre 11"