Canada's Notification Authority and Enquiry Point

International trade agreements such as the World Trade Organization (WTO), and the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) include transparency provisions that require signatories to establish a central contact point designated to provide early and appropriate notifications on certain federal and sub-federal government measures (laws, regulations, binding policies and guidelines, etc.).  The measures (new or modified) to be notified include those that may have an effect on international trade, no matter if it is restricting or facilitating, and are classified as a technical regulation or conformity assessment procedures in the WTO Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT) Agreement or a sanitary or phytosanitary (SPS) measure under the WTO SPS Agreement. In addition, this office deals with enquiries from other WTO members and the public on those measures or related issues, as well as ensures that answers to reasonable enquiries from other Members and interested parties are provided along with relevant documents.  This central point is called the Notification Authority and Enquiry Point.

Canada’s Notification Authority and Enquiry Point provides a single window for the delivery of Canadian transparency requirements under the WTO TBT/SPS Agreements, NAFTA and several of Canada’s other free trade agreements.

Services and Products

In fulfilling Canada's obligations under various trade agreements, Canada’s Notification Authority and Enquiry Point offers the following services and products to interested stakeholders:

  • Supporting Canadian regulators in identifying issues for notifications and preparing relevant documentation;
  • Providing notification and related documentation to Canada's WTO and other partners of proposed new or amended technical regulations, conformity assessment procedures, and SPS measures as required by Canadian trade agreements;
  • Forwarding of comments received on domestic and foreign measures to the appropriate regulatory agency for consideration;
  • Responding to technical enquiries on a variety of topics including: national, foreign and international standards; Canadian and foreign technical regulations; conformity assessment procedures; and SPS measures;
  • Providing full texts of technical regulations, conformity assessment procedures, and SPS measures notified.

You can contact Canada’s Notification Authority and Enquiry Point by e-mail at enquirypoint@international.gc.ca or by mailing or calling:

Canada’s Notification Authority and Enquiry Point
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Technical Barriers and Regulations Division
111 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2
Tel: (343)203-4273 or Toll Free in Canada & the United States: 1-844-465-0626
Fax: 613-943-0346

Autorité Responsable des Notifications et Point D'information du Canada

Les ententes de libre-échange du Canada tel l’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce (OMC) et l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) comportent des clauses de transparence qui exigent des signataires l’établissement de points de contact centraux qui serviront à émettre tôt des notifications appropriées sur des mesures émises par les gouvernements fédéraux et fédérés  (lois, règlements, politiques et directives contraignantes, etc.).  Les mesures (nouvelles ou modifiées) qui doivent être notifiées incluent celles pouvant avoir un impact sur le commerce international (peu importe si l’impact est restrictif ou facilitateur) et considérées comme règles techniques ou procédures d’évaluation de la conformité, selon les accords sur les Obstacles Techniques au Commerce (OTC) et sur les Mesures Sanitaires et Phytosanitaires (SPS).  De plus ce point de contact est responsable des demandes provenant des autres membres de l’OMC et du public, relatives à ces mesures ou autres questions connexes. Ce point central est appelé Autorité responsable des notifications et Point d’information doit aussi s’assurer que des réponses et la documentation pertinente sont fournies suite à toute demande raisonnable des autres membres ou parties intéressées.

L’Autorité responsable des notifications et Point d’information du Canada offre un guichet unique pour que le Canada puisse se conformer aux exigences de transparence des accords OTC/SPS de l’OMC, de l’ALENA et de plusieurs autres accords de libre-échange impliquant le Canada.

Services et produits

En permettant au Canada de rencontrer ses obligations envers divers accords de libre-échange, l’Autorité responsable des notifications et Point d’information du Canada offre les services et produits suivants aux parties intéressées :

  • Appui aux régulateurs canadiens dans l’identification des questions méritant des notifications et aide à la préparation des documents.
  • Émission des notifications et de la documentation pertinente pour l’usage de l’OMC et autres partenaires du Canada sur les règlements techniques (nouveaux ou amendés); les procédures d’évaluation de la conformité; et les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires; tel que requis par les accords commerciaux du Canada.
  • Transmission des commentaires reçus sur les mesures nationales et étrangères aux autorités gouvernementales appropriées pour leur considération.
  • Réponse aux demandes techniques sur divers sujets incluant : les normes nationales et internationales; les règlements techniques canadiens et étrangers; les procédures d’évaluation de la conformité; et les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires;
  • Émission des textes complets des règles techniques, procédures d’évaluation de la conformité, et mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires qui ont été notifiées.

Vous pouvez contacter l’Autorité responsable des notifications et Point d’information du Canada par courriel : pointdinformation@international.gc.ca, ou par courrier ou téléphone :

L’Autorité responsable des notifications et Point d’information du Canada
Affaires étrangères, commerce et développement Canada
Direction des règlements et obstacles techniques
111 Promenade Sussex, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Tél : (343)203-4273 ou Numéro sans frais au Canada et aux États-Unis: 1-844-465-0626
Téléc.: (613)943-0346