Language selection

Search

Canada-France relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and France maintain a rich and strong relationship, rooted in a shared history and common language. A permanent member of the UN Security Council, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the G7 and the G20, a founding member of the European Union and a key partner within the Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie, France is one of Canada’s closest allies.

Canada and France cooperate globally in support of multilateralism and a rules-based international order; international security; the protection of the environment and the fight against climate change; the promotion of democracy and good governance; human rights; gender equality; and a shared Francophone culture.

Since 2018, Prime Minister Trudeau and President Macron have dedicated the Franco-Canadian relationship to the service of a just and equitable international order based on the rule of law. Bilateral commitments structure our joint actions, notably in the areas of culture, the environment and the fight against climate change, international aid and sustainable development, artificial intelligence, and defence. The leaders reconfirmed their bilateral priorities through a joint statement, issued in June 2021 on the margins of the G7 Leaders' Summit.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and President Emmanuel Macron maintain regular contact on the war in Ukraine. Both Leaders have also maintained regular contact in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, and Canada and France have worked together closely to ensure the continuation of airlines, repatriate fellow citizens and provide equitable access to vaccines. In addition to meetings during international summits, regular visits by elected officials, ministers and heads of government and state take place on both sides of the Atlantic, marking the continuity of the historical relationship between Canada and France. Furthermore, the Canada-France Interparliamentary Association gives Canadian and French parliamentarians the opportunity to discuss matters of mutual interest.

A shared Francophone culture

With their shared Francophone culture, Canada and France work closely together within the Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie as its two largest donors. Working together in this significant multilateral space ensures ongoing engagement with French‑speaking populations—starting with youth, women and girls—in all their diversity. It also ensures the advancement of shared priorities with respect to the French language, peace, democracy and human rights, education, and economic cooperation in the service of sustainable development. Among the recent products of this collaboration, in 2020 TV5 Monde and TV5 Québec-Canada launched the digital platform TV5MONDEPlus with a mandate to broadcast French-language audiovisual productions around the world.

Gender equality

Gender equality and women’s empowerment are priorities that Canada and France share. At the Generation Equality Forum in Paris, held in June 2021, Canada and France launched an initiative highlighting the importance of funding feminist organizations working to promote gender equality and women’s empowerment. In order to contribute to the advancement of gender equality within their respective public services, a seminar of Canadian and French senior officials was held in 2021 to share best practices in this area. As part of its G7 presidency in 2019, France followed the precedent set by Canada the previous year by maintaining the G7 Gender Equality Advisory Council.

International mobility

Canadian and French academic institutions work closely together, and hundreds of student exchange agreements have been signed between higher education institutions. The latest agreement, in effect since 2015, allows Canadian and French youth aged 18 to 35 to work, travel and complete an internship in the other country for a period of up to 24 months.  

Science, technology and innovation

France is a priority country for Canada in terms of scientific cooperation and technology partnerships. Canada and France are committed to strengthening their cooperation in the fields of science, technology and innovation. High value-added partnerships with a focus on innovation are being developed in strategic sectors: aerospace; medical technologies; biotechnology as applied to medicine and agro-industry; technologies for precision agriculture; green technologies; renewable energy; advanced materials; nanotechnologies; and information and communication technology.

Trade relations

France is a top-ten trading partner for Canada – ninth largest for goods trade and sixth largest for services. France is also the 12th largest foreign investor in Canada, with a stock of $14.1 billion in direct investment in Canada at the end of 2021. The commercial relationship between Canada and France is underpinned by the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), which has been provisionally applied since 2017. CETA creates opportunities for French and Canadian businesses by eliminating tariffs and increasing the mobility of business people, among other things.

Related links

Defence cooperation

Canada and France share extensive defence cooperation in a bilateral and multilateral context. Within the framework of the bilateral Franco-Canadian Defence Cooperation Council (FCDCC), the two countries share strategic analyses, discuss military cooperation, and conduct exchanges in the fields of research, development, and defence equipment. In addition to being NATO Allies, Canada and France work closely in multilateral fora to cooperate on defence and security matters. Canada and France are also Allies in the Global Coalition to Defeat Da’esh and work together closely in a number of hot spots around the world. Canada and France regularly highlight the deep ties of their bilateral relationship during the numerous ceremonies commemorating the First and Second World Wars.

Representation

In France, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada to France, located in Paris. Canada also has consulates headed by honorary consuls in Lyon, Nice, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon and Toulouse. France is represented in Canada by its embassy in Ottawa and has consulates in Vancouver, Toronto, Montréal, the city of Québec and Moncton.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-France

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et la France entretiennent des relations riches et profondes, ancrées dans une histoire partagée et une langue commune. Membre permanent du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, de l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord, du G7 et du G20, ainsi qu’un pays fondateur de l'Union européenne et un partenaire principal au sein de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, la France constitue l’un des plus proches alliés du Canada.

Le Canada et la France coopèrent globalement en faveur du multilatéralisme et d’un ordre international basé sur les règles ; de la sécurité internationale ; de la protection de l’environnement et de la lutte contre les changements climatiques ; de la promotion de la démocratie et de la bonne gouvernance ; des droits de la personne ; de l’égalité des genres ; et d’une culture francophone partagée.

Depuis 2018, le Premier ministre Trudeau et le Président Macron ont dédié la relation franco canadienne au service d’un ordre international juste, équitable et fondé sur le respect du droit. Des engagements bilatéraux structurent nos actions communes, notamment dans les domaines de la culture, de l'environnement et de la lutte contre les changements climatiques, de l’aide internationale et du développement durable, de l’intelligence artificielle, ainsi qu’en matière de défense. Les dirigeants ont reconfirmé leurs priorités bilatérales par l’entremise d’une déclaration conjointe issue en juin 2021, en marge du Sommet des leaders du G7.

Le Premier ministre Justin Trudeau et le Président Emmanuel Macron maintiennent un dialogue régulier sur la guerre en Ukraine. Les deux dirigeants ont également maintenu un dialogue régulier dans le contexte de la pandémie de Covid-19 - le Canada et la France ont collaboré étroitement au maintien des lignes aériennes, au rapatriement de concitoyens et en matière d’accès équitable aux vaccins. Parallèlement aux rencontres lors de sommets internationaux, des visites régulières d’élus, de ministres et des chefs de gouvernement et d’État prennent place des deux côtés de l’Atlantique et marquent la continuité de la relation historique entre le Canada et la France. L’Association interparlementaire Canada-France permet aux parlementaires canadiens et français d’échanger sur des sujets et enjeux communs.

Culture francophone partagée

Le Canada et la France, forts d’une culture francophone partagée, travaillent en étroite collaboration au sein de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie en tant que principaux bailleurs de fonds de l’organisation. La collaboration dans cet espace multilatéral d’importance permet d’assurer un engagement continu auprès des populations francophones, à commencer par les jeunes, les femmes et les filles dans toute leur diversité, et de faire avancer les priorités partagées en matière de langue française, de paix, de démocratie et droits de la personne, d’éducation et de coopération économique au service du développement durable. À titre d’illustration récente de cette collaboration, TV5 Monde et TV5 Québec-Canada ont lancé en 2020 la plateforme numérique TV5MONDEPlus avec pour mandat de diffuser des productions audiovisuelles francophones à travers le monde.

Égalité des genres

L’égalité des genres et l’autonomisation des femmes sont des priorités partagées par le Canada et la France. À l’occasion du Forum Génération Égalité de Paris en juin 2021, le Canada et la France ont porté une initiative mettant en lumière l’importance du financement d’organisations féministes œuvrant à la promotion de l’égalité des genres et à l’autonomisation des femmes. Afin de collaborer à l’avancement de l’égalité des genres au sein de leurs fonctions publiques respectives, un séminaire de Hauts-fonctionnaires canadiens et français s’est tenu en 2021, permettant d’échanger sur les meilleures pratiques en la matière. Dans le cadre de sa présidence du G7 en 2019, la France a renforcé le précédent créé par le Canada l’année précédente en maintenant le Conseil consultatif du G7 pour l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes.

Mobilité internationale

Les institutions académiques canadiennes et françaises collaborent étroitement et des centaines d’accords d’échanges d'étudiants ont été conclus entre des établissements d'enseignement supérieur. Le dernier accord, en vigueur depuis 2015, permet aux jeunes Canadiens et Français de 18 à 35 ans de travailler, voyager et faire des stages dans l’autre pays pendant une période pouvant aller jusqu’à 24 mois.

Sciences, technologie et innovation

La France est un pays prioritaire pour le Canada en matière de coopération scientifique et de partenariats technologiques. Le Canada et la France se sont engagés à renforcer leurs coopérations dans les domaines des sciences, des technologies et de l’innovation. Des partenariats à forte valeur ajoutée, orientés vers l’innovation, s’intensifient dans des secteurs stratégiques : aéronautique, technologies médicales, biotechnologies appliquées à la santé et à l’agro-industrie, technologies pour l’agriculture de précision, matériaux avancés, écotechnologies, énergies renouvelables, technologies de l’information et des communications.

Relations commerciales

La France est l'un des dix principaux partenaires commerciaux du Canada - le neuvième pour les échanges de biens et le sixième pour les services. La France est également le 12e investisseur étranger au Canada, avec des stocks d'investissements directs évalués à 14,1 milliards de dollars à la fin de 2021. La relation commerciale entre le Canada et la France est sous-tendue par l'Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l'Union européenne, qui est appliqué à titre provisoire depuis 2017. L'AECG crée des opportunités pour les entreprises françaises et canadiennes, notamment en supprimant divers droits de douane et en favorisant la mobilité des communautés d'affaires.

Liens connexes

Coopération dans le domaine de la défense

Le Canada et la France coopèrent étroitement dans le domaine de la défense, tant au plan bilatéral que multilatéral. Par l’entremise du Conseil franco-canadien de coopération en matière de défense, les deux pays partagent des analyses stratégiques, discutent de coopération militaire, et mènent des échanges en matière scientifique, de développement et d’équipements de défense. En plus d’être alliés au sein de l’OTAN, le Canada et la France coopèrent étroitement au sein des instances internationales sur les enjeux militaires et de défense. Le Canada et la France sont tous deux membres de la Coalition internationale contre Daech et travaillent de concert dans de nombreux points chauds de la planète. Le Canada et la France ont également l’occasion de souligner la solidité de leurs liens bilatéraux lors des nombreuses cérémonies commémorant les Première et Seconde Guerres mondiales.

Représentation

En France, le Canada est représenté par l’ambassade du Canada à Paris. Le Canada a des consulats dirigés par des consuls honoraires à Lyon, Nice, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon et Toulouse. La France est représentée au Canada par son ambassade à Ottawa et elle a des consulats à Vancouver, Toronto, Montréal, Québec et Moncton.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: