Global Telecom Holdings S.A.E. v. Government of Canada

Claimant

Global Telecom Holding S.A.E. (GTH) is an Egyptian-incorporated integrated telecommunications services company that operates in markets around the world.

Articles

  • II (Establishment, Acquisition and Protection of Investments)
  • IV (National Treatment after Establishment and Exceptions to NT)
  • IX (Transfer of Funds)

Damages claimed

US$1.8 billion

Status

Won. The Tribunal dismissed all the claims. The Tribunal did not award any costs.

Arbitration Rules

ICSID

Summary

Procedural History

On May 28, 2016, GTH filed a Request for Arbitration with the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) under the Canada-Egypt Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA). A Tribunal was constituted on February 21, 2017 with the appointment of Professor George Affaki as presiding arbitrator. The Tribunal also included Mr. Gary Born (nominated by the claimant) and Professor Vaughn Lowe (nominated by Canada). A hearing on the jurisdiction, merits and damages was held in Paris from April 1-12, 2019.

On March 27, 2020, a majority of the three arbitrators dismissed all claims against Canada as well as GTH’s request for US$ 1.8B in damages. One of the arbitrators wrote a dissenting opinion. The award as well as documents related to this arbitration will be made publically available on the website of ICSID, the administering authority for the arbitration, as soon as confidential information has been redacted.

Factual Overview and Nature of the Claim

In 2008 GTH entered the Canadian telecommunications market through an investment in a Canadian company, Globalive Wireless Management Corporation, which would later provide mobile telecommunications services in parts of Canada as “Wind Mobile”.

Over the investment period, GTH alleges that Canada failed to create a fair, competitive and favourable regulatory environment for new investors in this sector.

GTH alleges that Canada breached several of its obligations under the Canada-Egypt FIPA denyingthe obligation to accord fair and equitable treatment in accordance with principles of international law [Article II (2) (a)], full protection and security [Article II(2)(b)], national treatment [Article IV(1)] and to refrain from imposing restrictions on the transfer of investments and returns [Article IX (1)].

GTH claimed damages in the amount of US$1.8 billion arising from the alleged breaches.

Legal Documents

This case is being administered under the arbitral rules of the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID). Additional details related to this case can be viewed at the website of ICSID.

Global Telecom Holding S.A.E. c. le gouvernement du Canada

Demandeur

Global Telecom Holding S.A.E. (GTH) est une entreprise incorporée en Égypte qui offre des services de télécommunications intégrés partout dans le monde. 

Articles

  • II – Établissement, acquisition et protection des investissements
  • IV – Traitement national après l’établissement, et exceptions au traitement national
  • IX – Transfert de fonds

Dommages réclamés

1.8 milliard de dollars américains

État actuel

Gagnée. Le Tribunal a rejeté toutes les plaintes. Le Tribunal n’a pas accordé de frais.

Règlement d’arbitrage

CIRDI

Résumé

Historique des procédures

Le 28 mai 2016, GTH a déposé une demande d’arbitrage auprès du Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements (CIRDI) sous l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) entre le Canada et l’Égypte. Un Tribunal a été constitué le 21 février 2017, avec la nomination de professeur George Affaki en tant qu’arbitre-président. Les autres membres du Tribunal étaient M. Gary Born (nommé par le demandeur) et le professeur Vaughn Lowe (nommé par le Canada). Une audience sur la compétence, le fond et les dommages a été tenue du 1er au 12 avril 2019 à Paris.

Le 27 mars 2020, une majorité des trois arbitres a rejeté toutes les plaintes contre le Canada ainsi que les 1,8 milliard de dollars américains en dommages réclamés par GTH. Un des arbitres a écrit une opinion divergente. La sentence ainsi que les documents relatifs à l’arbitrage seront publiés sur le site Web du CIRDI, l’autorité administrative pour l’arbitrage, dès que les renseignements confidentiels auront été caviardés.

Aperçu factuel et nature des allégations

En 2008, GTH a fait son entrée sur le marché canadien des télécommunications en investissant dans une entreprise canadienne, Globalive Wireless Management Corporation, qui fournirait ultérieurement des services de télécommunications mobiles dans certaines régions du Canada sous le nom de « Wind Mobile ».

Au cours de la période d’investissement, GTH soutient que le Canada n’a pas mis en place un contexte de réglementation juste, concurrentiel et favorable pour les nouveaux investisseurs dans ce secteur.

GTH allègue que le Canada a manqué à plusieurs de ses obligations au titre de l’APIE entre le Canada et l’Égypte, notamment l’obligation d’accorder un traitement juste et équitable en conformité avec les principes du droit international [article II(2) a)], assurer pleinement leur protection et leur sécurité [article II(2) b)], le traitement national [article IV(1)] et de s’abstenir d’imposer des restrictions sur le transfert d’investissements et des revenus [article IX(1)].

GTH a réclamé 1,8 milliard de dollars américains en dommages en raison de contraventions alléguées.

Documents juridiques

Cet arbitrage est régi selon le règlement d’arbitrage du Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements (CIRDI). Pour obtenir des détails supplémentaires relatifs à cet arbitrage, veuillez consulter le site Web du CIRDI (en anglais seulement).