Opening of the application period for the new Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) tariff rate quotas (TRQ) for cheese

The Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement Implementation Act received Royal Assent on May 16, 2017. As per Canada’s commitments under the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) the Minister of International Trade has established the following Tariff Rate Quotas (TRQs) and determined how they will be allocated:

The Notices set out the eligibility criteria to obtain an allocation under each respective TRQ. The Notices also provide information on the administration of TRQs in general and on the process for submitting an application for an allocation. Application forms and related appendices are attached to each Notice.

Applications for an allocation under the new CETA cheese TRQs may be submitted to Global Affairs Canada by email at CETA.Quotas@international.gc.ca. The deadline for submitting an application is September 8, 2017.

In accordance with CETA, the new cheese TRQs will normally extend from January 1 to December 31 inclusive. However, since the agreement is being been provisionally applied as of September 21, the quantity available to allocate under each TRQ in 2017 will be prorated on the basis of the number of days remaining in the year:

Tariff Rate QuotaAmount Available in Year 1 (2017)
Cheese of all types745,299
Industrial cheese79,085

Please refer to the Frequently Ask Questions – CETA Cheese Tariff Rate Quotas web page for additional information on the new CETA Cheese quotas.

If you have any additional questions, please submit them to the following email address: CETA.Quotas@international.gc.ca

Ouverture de la période de demande pour les nouveaux contingents tarifaires (CT) de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) pour le fromage

La Loi de mise en œuvre de l'Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne a reçu la sanction royale le 16 mai 2017. Conformément aux engagements pris par le Canada en vertu de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG), le ministre du Commerce international a établi les contingents tarifaires (CT) suivants:

Les Avis énoncent les critères d’éligibilité requis pour obtenir une allocation en vertu des nouveaux CT de fromages liés à l’AECG. Les Avis fournissent également des informations sur l'administration des CT en général et sur la procédure à suivre pour soumettre une demande d’allocation d’importation. Les formulaires de demandes et leurs annexes sont en pièces jointes de chaque Avis.

Les demandes d’allocation en vertu des nouveaux CT de l’AECG peuvent être soumises à Affaires mondiales Canada par courriel à CETA.Quotas@international.gc.ca. La date limite pour soumettre une demande est le 8 septembre 2017.

Conformément à l’AECG, l’année contingentaire pour les nouveaux CT de fromage s’étend normalement du 1ier janvier au 31 décembre inclusivement. Cependant, étant donné que l'accord a été provisoirement appliqué à compter du 21 septembre 2017, la quantité disponible à allouer au titre de chaque CT en 2017 sera calculée au prorata en fonction du nombre de jours restants de l'année:

Contingent tarifaireQuantité disponible pour la 1ère année (2017)
Fromage de tous les types745 299
Fromage industriel79 085

Veuillez-vous référer à la Foire aux questions - Contingents des fromages de l’AECG de notre site internet pour plus d’informations au sujet des nouveaux contingents de fromage de L’AECG.

Si vous avez d'autres questions, soumettez-les à l'adresse électronique suivante : CETA.Quotas@international.gc.ca