Sugar-Containing Products Export Quota: Quantities available for utilization

Due to exceptional circumstances, a portion of the sugar-containing products (SCP) export quota to the United States is now available for utilization by Canadian residents on a first-come, first-served basis until the available quantity is fully used or September 30, 2014, whichever occurs first.

As of August 7, 2014, the amount of export quota available for utilization is: 4,372,165 kg.

These quantities are made available solely for exports of SCPs that are “product of Canada” and may therefore enter the US under Canada’s country-specific reserve of the US SCP tariff rate quota. Applicable SCPs are set out in item number 5203 of the Export Control List:

Sugar-containing Products

5203. Sugar-containing products that are classified under subheadings 1701.91.54, 1704.90.74, 1806.20.75, 1806.20.95, 1806.90.55, 1901.90.56, 2101.12.54, 2101.20.54, 2106.90.78 and 2106.90.95 of the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (1999) (United States International Trade Commission Pub. 2831, 19 U.S.C. § 1202 (1988)). (United States)

Companies wanting to use the available export quota to export SCPs to the US must request a shipment-specific import permit from Foreign Affairs, Trade, and Development Canada (the Department). Instructions to apply for an export permit can be found here: Applying for an Export Permit.

To claim the in-quota rate of duty, the eight-digit export permit number issued by the Department on behalf of the Government of Canada must be indicated on the appropriate US Customs entry document. Canadian exporters should provide their US Customs broker with a copy of the export permit prior to the time of export and should retain the original document.

It is the responsibility of companies to ensure that the product they intend to export is eligible under the United States’ SCP import TRQ. Exporters that require a determination as to whether their products are eligible under the United States’ TRQ are encouraged to contact the National Commodity Specialist Division, US Customs Border Protection (CBP), Department of Homeland Security.

Note that utilization of the available quota does not constitute an allocation under the SCP export quota and will have no bearing on the allocation of the quota for the 2014-15 quota year. The allocation policies for the SCP export quota, including the new entrant policy, can be found in Notice to Exporters No. 183, dated September 14, 2012. Please consult the Notice for further information on the administration of the quota.

The Department will regularly update and publish on this page the amount of SCP export quota available for utilization.

Questions may be addressed to: Sugar-Sucre@international.gc.ca.

Contingent d’exportation des produits contenant du sucre : quantités disponibles

En raison de circonstances exceptionnelles, une partie du contingent d’exportation aux États-Unis de produits contenant du sucre est mise à la disposition des résidents canadiens, selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi, et ce, jusqu’à ce que le contingent disponible soit épuisé, ou au plus tard le 30 septembre 2017.

En date du 2 mai 2017, le contingent d’exportation disponible pour utilisation était de : 8,784,335 kilogrammes.

Le contingent est réservée exclusivement aux exportations de produits contenant du sucre désignés comme « produits du Canada », qui peuvent donc entrer aux États-Unis au titre de la portion réservée au Canada au sein du contingent tarifaire d’importation américain s’appliquant aux produits contenant du sucre. Les produits visés sont énumérés au numéro d’article 5203 de la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée :

Produits contenant du sucre

5203. Produits contenant du sucre classés dans les sous-positions 1701.91.54, 1704.90.74, 1806.20.75, 1806.20.95, 1806.90.55, 1901.90.56, 2101.12.54, 2101.20.54, 2106.90.78 et 2106.90.95  du « Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (1999) » (United States International Trade Commission Pub. 2831, 19 U.S.C. § 1202 (1988)). (États-Unis)

Les entreprises qui souhaitent profiter du contingent disponible pour exporter des produits contenant du sucre vers les États-Unis doivent présenter une demande de licence d’exportation à cette fin à Affaires mondiales Canada (« le Ministère »). Cliquez ici pour obtenir la marche à suivre : Demande de licence d'exportation.

Pour que le taux de droits contingentaire s’applique, le numéro à huit chiffres de la licence d’exportation délivrée par le Ministère, au nom du gouvernement du Canada, doit figurer sur le formulaire de déclaration en douanes des États-Unis. Les exportateurs canadiens devraient fournir à leur courtier en douanes américain une copie de la licence d’exportation avant l’expédition des produits et conserver dans leurs dossiers la licence d’exportation originale.

Il incombe aux entreprises de vérifier que le produit qu’elles comptent exporter est visé par le contingent tarifaire d’importation américain s’appliquant aux produits contenant du sucre. Les exportateurs qui souhaitent déterminer si leurs produits sont visés par ce contingent tarifaire sont priés de communiquer avec la National Commodity Specialist Division, U.S Customs Border Protection (CBP), Department of Homeland Security.

Veuillez noter que l’utilisation du contingent disponible ne constitue pas une allocation du contingent d’exportation de produits contenant du sucre et n’aura aucune incidence sur l’allocation du contingent pour l’année contingentaire 2017-2018. Les politiques d’allocation de ce contingent, incluant celle s’appliquant aux nouveaux venus, figurent dans l’Avis aux exportateurs no 183, du 14 septembre 2012. Veuillez consulter l’Avis pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’administration du contingent.

Le Ministère mettra régulièrement à jour sur cette page la quantité encore disponible du contingent.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez vous adresser à : Sugar-Sucre@international.gc.ca.