Notice to Importers

Items 162 to 181 - Wheat Products

Serial No. 840
Date: September 27, 2013

Table of Contents

1.0 Coverage

1.1 This Notice is an adjunct to Notice to Importers No. 791 dated August 9, 2011.  It refers to Items 162 to 181 of the Import Control List; namely wheat products falling under heading numbers 11.01, 11.03, 11.04, 11.08, 11.09, 19.01, 19.02, 19.04, 19.05 and 23.02 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff.

1.2 Importers who require a determination as to whether or not the product they intend to import is within the scope of this Notice are advised to contact the Canada Border Services Agency, Tariff Division, Trade Programs and CARM Directorate by phone at  613-957-1468 or by fax at 613-952-3971.

2.0 Purpose

2.1 The purpose of this Notice is to advise importers that the wheat products tariff rate quota (TRQ) will be filled on October 25 , 2013. Consequently, October 25 , 2013 (at 11:59 p.m. local time) will be the cut-off date for accounting for imports of all wheat products classified under a “within access commitment” tariff item number.

2.2 All imports of wheat products accounted for after the cut-off date and time will be classified at the “over access commitment” tariff item number, even if they were imported (or imported and released) before the quota has been filled.

3.0 Duration

3.1 This Notice will remain in effect until July 31, 2014.

4.0 Authority

4.1 Under TRQs, imports are subject to low “within access commitment” rates of duty up to a predetermined limit (i.e. until the import access level has been reached), while imports over that limit are subject to significantly higher “over access commitment” rates of duty.  Pursuant to subsection 6.2(1) of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA), the Minister responsible for the Act may determine an import access quantity allowed entry at the low rate of duty.  Paragraph 8.3(2)(b) authorizes the Minister to establish a General Import Permit (GIP) that may be invoked freely by those complying with its conditions.

4.2 GIP No. 20 was established in 1995 to allow imports on a first-come first-served basis at the applicable “within access commitment” rate of duty, until the TRQ level has been reached.

4.3 Section 5.(1) of GIP No. 20 states that the GIP applies only to goods that are imported on or before the day, set out in a Notice, to be issued by the Minister, on which, in the opinion of the Minister, the import access quantity for the period concerned, determined in accordance with subsection 6.2(1) of the EIPA in respect of those goods, will have been filled.  The “period concerned” as used in this section means a period of 12 months beginning on August 1 and ending July 31 of the following year.

5.0 Permit issuance

5.1 Once the wheat products TRQ level is reached, General Import Permit No. 20 will be suspended in respect to the relevant goods until July 31, 2014, and General Import Permit No. 100 will cover, for the balance of the 2013-14 marketing year, unlimited imports classified under the “over access commitment” tariff item number.  Therefore, as of 11:59 p.m. local time on  October 25 , 2013, importers of wheat products may no longer invoke General Import Permit No. 20 when importing such goods. Imports of Mexican, Costa Rican, Chilean, Peruvian or U.S. wheat products will continue to be subject to the same rates of duty under the Mexican Tariff, the Costa Rican Tariff, the Chilean Tariff, the Peruvian Tariff, or the United States  Tariff once the TRQ level is reached as before the TRQ was filled.

5.2 Where goods imported under the authority of General Import Permit No. 100 are required to be reported in the prescribed form under the Customs Act, that form shall contain the statement “Imported Under the Authority of General Import Permit No. 100 - Eligible Agricultural Goods”.

6.0 Additional Information

6.1 For further information, please contact:

Lynn Matthew (Quota Manager)
Trade Controls Policy Division (TIC)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G2

Telephone: 613-944-1807
Facsimile: 613-996-0612
E-mail: lynn.matthew@international.gc.ca

6.2 A copy of this Notice and other pertinent information are available on the following Internet site: Wheat / Barley and their Products (http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/prod/agri/wheat-ble/index.aspx?lang=eng)

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis aux importateurs

Articles 162 à 181 - Produits de blé

No de série: 840
Date: Le 27 septembre 2013

Table des matières

1.0 Champ d'application

1.1 Le présent Avis, qui fait suite à l'Avis aux importateurs no 791 du 9 août 2011 , vise les articles 162 à 181 de la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlée, à savoir les produits du blé classés dans les positions tarifaires 11.01, 11.03, 11.04, 11.08, 11.09, 19.01, 19.02, 19.04, 19.05 et 23.02 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires de l'annexe du Tarif des douanes.

1.2 Les importateurs qui désirent savoir si le produit qu'ils prévoient importer est visé ou non par le présent Avis doivent communiquer avec l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Division du tarif, Direction des programmes commerciaux et GCRA par télélephone au 613-957-1468 ou par télécopieur au 613-952-3971.

2.0 But

2.1 Le présent Avis vise à informer les importateurs que le contingent tarifaire (CT) pour les produits du blé sera épuisé le octobre 25 2013. Par conséquent, le 25 octobre 2013 (à 23h59 heure locale) sera la date de clôture pour fins de comptabilisation de toutes les importations de produits du blé classées dans les numéros tarifaires « dans les limites de l'engagement d'accès ».

2.2 Toute importation de produits du blé déclarée après le temps et la date de clôture devra être classée dans les numéros tarifaires « au dessus de l'engagement d'accès », même si elle a été importée (ou importée et dédouanée) avant l'épuisement du contingent.

3.0 Durée de validité

3.1 Le présent Avis restera en vigueur jusqu'au 31 juillet 2014.

4.0 Fondements juridiques

4.1 En vertu des CT, les importations sont assujetties à un taux de droit réduit « dans les limites de l'engagement d'accès » jusqu'à une limite préétablie (c.-à-d. jusqu'à ce que la quantité bénéficiant du régime d'accès ait été atteinte) et les importations qui dépassent ladite limite sont assujetties à des taux de droit « au dessus de l'engagement d'accès » sensiblement plus élevés.  Aux termes du paragraphe 6.2(1) de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (LLEI), le ministre responsable de la Loi peut déterminer une quantité de marchandises pouvant être importée au taux de droit réduit.  L'alinéa 8.3(2)b) autorise le ministre à établir une Licence générale d'importation (LGI) pouvant être utilisée par ceux qui en respectent les conditions.

4.2 La LGI no 20 à été établie en 1995 pour permettre les importations selon la formule premier arrivé premier servi aux taux « dans les limites de l'engagement d'accès » jusqu'à ce que le niveau maximal du contingent tarifaire ait été atteint.

4.3 Selon le paragraphe 5.(1) de la LGI no 20, celle-ci ne s'applique qu'aux marchandises qui sont importées à la date ou avant la date indiquée dans un Avis émis par le ministre, date à laquelle, de l'avis du ministre, la quantité de marchandises pouvant être importée pour la période en question, déterminée conformément au paragraphe 6.2(1) de la LLEI visant ces produits, aura été atteinte.  Aux fins de ce paragraphe, la « période en question » désigne une période de 12 mois, du 1er août au 31 juillet de l'année suivante.

5.0 Délivrance des licences

5.1 Une fois que le niveau maximal du CT sera atteint, la Licence générale d'importation no 20 sera suspendue à l'égard des produits visés jusqu'au 31 juillet 2014.  La Licence générale d'importation no 100 couvrira, pour le reste de l'exercice de commercialisation 2013-14, toutes les importations classées dans des numéros tarifaires « au dessus de l'engagement d'accès ».  Par conséquent, à compter de 23h59 heure local le 25 octobre 2013, les importateurs de produits du blé ne pourront plus se prévaloir de la Licence générale d'importation no 20 pour importer de tels produits.  Les importations de produits du blé  mexicains, costa ricain, chilien, péruvien ou américain continueront d'être assujetties aux mêmes taux prévus aux tarifs de leur pays respectif une fois que le niveau du CT aura été atteint.

5.2 Lorsque les marchandises importées en vertu de la Licence générale d'importation no 100 doivent être déclarées à l'aide de la formule prescrite par la Loi sur les douanes, celle-ci doit porter la mention « Importé en vertu de la Licence générale d'importation no 100 - Marchandises agricoles admissibles ».

6.0 Renseignements additionnels

6.1 Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec:

Lynn Matthew (Gestionnaire de quota)
Direction de la politique sur la réglementation commerciale (TIC)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2

Téléphone: 613-944-1807
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612
Courriel: lynn.matthew@international.gc.ca

6.2 Une copie de cet avis et de l'information additionelle est disponible sur le site internet : Blé, orge et produits dérivés (http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/prod/agri/wheat-ble/index.aspx?lang=fra)