Notices to Importers

Items 141 to 157 - Cheeses of all types

Serial No.: 781
Date: November 2, 2010

Table of Contents

1.0 Purpose

1.1 The purpose of this Notice is to inform importers of the Minister's policies and practices respecting the administration of the 20,411,866 kg tariff rate quota (TRQ) for cheeses of all types.  It should be read with the Import Allocation Regulations and the Import Permit Regulations.  Where elements of the present Notice augment these regulations, those elements are to be read as expressions of the Minister’s normal practices and procedures.

2.0 Coverage

2.1 This Notice cancels and replaces Notice to Importers No. 723 dated October 25, 2007.  It refers to Items 141 to 157 of the Import Control List (ICL), i.e., products falling under tariff item No. 04.06 in the list of tariff provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff, namely cheeses of all types.

2.2 This Notice should be read in conjunction with Notice to Importers No. 803 dated October 14, 2011, which explains the administration of  supplementary imports for dairy products.

2.3 Importers who require a determination as to whether the tariff classification of the product they intend to import is within the scope of this Notice are to contact Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), Admissibility Branch at 613-957-1468, fax: 613-952-3971.

3.0 Duration

3.1 This Notice will remain in effect until further notice.

4.0 Authority

4.1 Each of the products covered by this Notice was added to the Import Control List (ICL) pursuant to paragraphs 5(1)(a), (b), (d) and (e) and sections 5.3 and 6 of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) in order to implement a Canadian commitment under the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Agriculture.

4.2 Under TRQs, imports are subject to low “within access commitment” rates of duty up to a predetermined limit (i.e., until the import access quantity has been reached); imports over this limit are subject to higher “over access commitment” rates of duty. Under section 6.2 of the EIPA, the Minister may: a) determine an import access quantity allowed entry at the low rate of duty; b) establish a method of allocating the import access quantity; and c) issue an import allocation to any resident of Canada that applies for an allocation, subject to the regulations and any terms and conditions the Minister may specify in the allocation.  Also pursuant to section 6.2 of the EIPA, the Minister may consent to the transfer of import allocations.  Having established an import access quantity, the Minister shall, under subsection 8.3(1) of the EIPA, issue import permits to allocation holders that apply for permits, up to the limit of that quantity, subject to compliance and application of regulations made under section 12 of the EIPA.  These permits shall entitle the goods to which they apply to be subject to the low “within access commitment” rates of duty.  Subsection 8.3(3) allows the Minister to issue permits in excess of the access quantity.

4.3 Pursuant to subsection 6 (f) of the Import Allocation Regulations, when deciding whether to issue an import allocation or whether to consent to a transfer, the Minister shall take into account whether the import allocation holder has furnished false or misleading information in connection with any reports required by the Act or the regulations made under the Act or by any condition of an import allocation or import permit during the 12-month period preceding the period in respect of which the import allocation or transfer is to apply.

4.4 Pursuant to subsection 10.(1) of the EIPA, the Minister may amend, suspend, cancel or re-instate any permit or import allocation issued or granted under the Act.

5.0 Import access level

5.1 The TRQ for cheeses of all types is set at 20,411,866 kilograms.

6.0 Allocation of the TRQ

6.1 The cheese TRQ is allocated every calendar year to traditional import allocation holders on the basis of their historical import quota as adjusted since, if necessary, for any under-utilization.

7.0 EU and Non-EU reserves

7.1 Under the provisions of a December 1995 Agreement signed between Canada and the European Communities (EC), 66% of the cheese TRQ, namely 13,471,831 kg, is allocated to cheese imports from the Member States of the EC. The EC currently has twenty-seven Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.  The remaining 34%, namely 6,940,035 kg, is allocated to cheese imports from non-EC sources.

7.2 In order to respect the ratio established under the Canada-EC Agreement, import allocation transfers between EC and non-EC sources of supply normally will not be authorized.

8.0 Under-utilization

8.1 A company that uses less than 95% of its allocation in any one year may receive an allocation in the next year which reflects the actual level of use. Those companies affected will be advised prior to the final allocation of the TRQ.

9.0 Activity test for traditional allocation holders to retain their import allocation

9.1 On November 3, 1994, the government announced that traditional holders of cheese import allocations would retain their allocation, subject to demonstrating, through an annual activity test, their active involvement in the cheese trade. Since import allocations are and always have been a privilege granted by the Minister responsible for the Export and Import Permits Act,  the Minister is exercising his discretion on the matter by ensuring that current allocation holders continue to contribute to employment and value added activity in the Canadian food sector.

10.0 Related Persons

10.1 For the purpose of this Notice, where two or more applicants are related persons, they shall be eligible for only one allocation.  To determine which persons are related, an applicant for an allocation is asked to provide a brief profile of the company in part 12 of the application, which should include a list of "related persons" (see Appendix 4, “Information Concerning Related Persons”).

10.2 In the case of separate applications from related applicants involving a parent company and one or more subsidiaries, only the application nominated by the parent company will be considered.  If the parent company does not make such a nomination in writing, it shall be made by the Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.

10.3 For more information, please contact:

Mr. Hugues Leroux
Trade Controls Policy Division (TIC)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G2

11.0 Transferability of import allocations

11.1 Under the EIPA, the Minister may allow the transfer of import allocations between import allocation holders. All requests for the transfer of import allocations must be referred to the Trade Controls Policy Division for consideration.

12.0 Import Permit Issuance

12.1 Import permits are required for each shipment of cheeses of all types falling within tariff item No. 0406 of the Customs Tariff.  Importers may either invoke General Import Permit (GIP) No. 100, or may present an import permit issued to their firm for that shipment ("specific import permit"), in order to clear Canada Customs.  The "specific import permit" must also be presented to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) at the time of accounting for the shipment to be eligible for classification under tariff item No. 0406 for which the duty rate is free from the United States and 3.32 cents per kg under the Most Favoured Nation (MFN) rate.  Shipments imported without a "specific import permit" (i.e., under the GIP) will be subject to classification under tariff item No. 0406, for which the duty rate is 245.5% (and a minimum dollar amount which varies on a per kilogram basis depending on the type of cheese imported).

Note: "Specific import permits" will not be issued for shipments already imported into Canada under the authority of the general import permit, regardless of the importer’s import allocation.

12.2 In accordance with the Import Permit Regulations, the procedures for receiving applications for import permits are as follows:

  1. When requesting an import permit an applicant must submit a completed Form EXT-1466, “Application for Permit” (a copy of which is attached as Appendix 1).
  2. A description of the process of applying for a permit is attached as Appendix 2, including information about fees, the monthly billing system and information required from applicants.  All import permits are issued either (i) through an on-line automated system in the offices of customs brokers in major centres across Canada or (ii) in the offices of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.

13.0 Permit fees

13.1 A fee will be levied for each permit or certificate issued in accordance to the Export and Import Permits and Certificates Fees Order (Notice to Importers No. 508 dated May 16, 1995).

14.0 Permit fees

14.1 Enquiries about import allocations may be addressed to:

Hugues Leroux
Tel: 613-996-2594
Fax: 613-996-0612
Email: hugues.leroux@international.gc.ca
(Address listed in paragraph 10.3 above)

14.2 Enquiries about permit issuance and utilization of import allocations may be addressed to:

Monica Monaghan
Tel: 613-944-1808
Fax: 613-996-0612
Email: monica.monaghan@international.gc.ca

(Address listed in paragraph 10.3 above)

Avis aux importateurs

Articles 141 à 157 - Fromages de tous genres

No de série: 781
Date: le 2 novembre 2010

Table des matières

1.0 But

1.1 Le présent Avis a pour objet d'informer les importateurs des politiques et les pratiques du Ministre régissant l'attribution du contingent tarifaire de 20 411 866 kilogrammes de fromages de tous genres bénéficiant du régime d'accès. Cet Avis doit être lu de concert avec le Règlement sur les autorisations d'importation et le Règlement sur les licences d'importation. Lorsque des éléments du présent Avis viennent s’ajouter aux règlements, ces éléments doivent être pris comme l’expression des règles et procédures normales du Ministre.

2.0 Champ d'application

2.1 Le présent Avis annule et remplace l'Avis aux importateurs no 723 du 25 octobre 2007.  Il se rapporte aux articles 141 à 157 de la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlée (LMIC), c'est-à-dire aux produits visés par le numéro tarifaire 04.06 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires de l'annexe du Tarif des douanes, à savoir aux fromages de tous genres.

2.2 Le présent Avis devrait être lu de concert avec l'Avis aux importateurs no. 803 du 14 octobre 2011, qui explique l'administration des importations supplémentaires de produits laitiers..

2.3 Les importateurs qui désirent savoir si la classification tarifaire du produit qu'ils veulent importer est visé ou non par le présent Avis doivent s'adresser à  l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), Direction générale de l’admissibilité au 613-957-1468, télécopieur: 613-952-3971.

3.0 Durée de validité

3.1 Le présent Avis demeurera en vigueur jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

4.0 Fondements juridiques

4.1 Les produits visés par le présent Avis ont tous été ajoutés à la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlée en vertu des alinéas 5(1)a), b), d) et e) et des articles 5.3 et 6 de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (LLEI), afin de mettre en œuvre un engagement pris par le Canada aux termes de l'Accord sur l'agriculture de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC).

4.2 En vertu du CT, les importations sont asujetties à de  faibles taux de droit « dans les limites de l'engagement d'accès » jusqu'à concurrence d'une limite prédéterminée (c.-à-d. jusqu'à ce que la quantité bénéficiant du régime d'accès soit épuisée); les importations dépassant cette limite sont assujetties aux taux de droit « supérieurs à l'engagement d'accès », qui sont plus élevés. En vertu de l'article 6.2 de la LLEI, le ministre peut : a) déterminer une quantité bénéficiant du régime d'accès au taux de droit moins élevé; b) établir une méthode pour attribuer la quantité de marchandises visée par le régime d'accès en cause; c) délivrer une autorisation d'importation à tout résident du Canada qui en fait la demande, sous réserve des conditions qui y sont énoncées par le ministre et des règlements.  Il peut en outre, en application de l’article 6.2 de la LLEI, autoriser le transfert de l’autorisation d’importation. Après avoir établi la quantité de marchandises bénéficiant du régime d'accès, le ministre délivrera, aux termes du paragraphe 8.3(1) de la LLEI, à tout résident qui a une autorisation d'importation et qui en fait la demande, des licences d'importation jusqu'à concurrence de la limite prévue, sous réserve de l'observation des règlements d'application de l'article 12 de la LLEI; ces licences autoriseront l'importation des marchandises visées par les taux de droit « dans les limites du régime d’accès », qui sont moins élevés. En vertu du paragraphe 8.3(3), le ministre peut délivrer des licences pour l’importation en sus de la quantité maximale bénéficiant du régime d’accès.

4.3 Conformément au paragraphe 6 (f) du Règlement sur les autorisations d’importation, avant de décider de délivrer une autorisation d’importation ou d’en autoriser le transfert, le ministre prend en compte le cas échéant, le fait que le détenteur de l’autorisation d’importation a communiqué, durant les 12 mois qui précèdent la période à laquelle s’appliquera l’autorisation d’importation ou le transfert, des renseignements faux ou trompeurs relativement à tout rapport exigé en vertu de la Loi ou de ses règlements d’application ou selon les conditions régissant toute autorisation d’importation ou licence d’importation.

4.4 Conformément au paragraphe 10.(1) de la LLEI, le ministre peut modifier, suspendre, annuler ou rétablir les licences et les autorisations d’importation délivrées ou concédées en vertu de la Loi.

5.0 Niveau de CT du fromage

5.1 Le niveau d’accès pour le CT de fromages de tous genres est fixé à 20 411 866 kilograms.

6.0 Régime d'allocation

6.1 Le CT de fromage est attribué au début de chaque année civile aux détenteurs traditionnels d'autorisation d'importation sur la base de leur contingent historique, modifié depuis lors pour cause de sous-utilisation.

7.0 Réserves UE et non-UE

7.1 En conformité avec un Accord conclu en décembre 1995 entre le Canada et les Communautés européennes (CE), 66 % du CT de fromage, soit 13 471 831 kg, sont affectées aux importations de fromage en provenance des États-membres des CE. Celles-ci compte actuellement vingt-sept membres: l’Allemagne, l’Autriche, la Bulgarie, la Belgique, Chypre, le

Danemark, l’Espagne, l’Estonie, la Finlande, la France, la Grèce, la Hongrie, l’Irlande, l’Italie, la Lettonie, la Lituanie, le Luxembourg, Malte, les Pays-Bas, la Pologne, le Portugal, la République Tchèque, la Roumanie, le Royaume-Uni, la Slovaquie, la Slovénie et la Suède. Les 34 % restant, soit 6 940 035 kg, sont affectées aux importations de fromage en provenance de l'extérieur des CE.

7.2 Dans le but de respecter le ratio prévu par l'Accord Canada-CE, les transferts de quotes-parts ne seront normalement pas autorisés entre les sources CE et non-CE.

8.0 Ajustement pour sous-utilisation

8.1 Les sociétés utilisant moins de 95 % de leur quote-part au cours d'une année verront leur quote-part réduite à leur niveau réel d'utilisation pour l'année suivante. Les sociétés touchées seront informées des ajustements à leur quote-part avant l'attribution finale du CT.

9.0 Test d'activité pour les détenteurs traditionnels d'une autorisation d'importation aux fins de la conservation de cette autorisation

9.1 Le 3 novembre 1994, le gouvernement a annoncé que les détenteurs traditionnels d’une autorisation d’importation de fromage conserveront cette autorisation s’ils peuvent, à l’occasion d’un test d’activité annuel, attester de leur participation active au commerce du fromage. Comme les autorisations d’importation sont depuis toujours un privilège accordé par le ministre responsable de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, ce dernier exerce sa discrétion à cet égard en veillant à ce que les détenteurs d’une autorisation d’importation continuent à contribuer à l’emploi et aux activités à valeur ajoutée dans le secteur alimentaire canadien.

10.0 Demandes présentées par des requérants liés

10.1 Aux fins du présent Avis, lorsque deux ou plus de deux requérants sont des personnes liées, ils ne seront admissibles qu'à une seule attribution. Afin d'établir quelles personnes sont des personnes liées, les applicants désireux d'obtenir un CT d’importation doivent fournir un bref profil de l’entreprise à la partie 12 de l’application qui devrait inclure une liste de  ≪ personnes liées ≫ (voir l'annexe 4).

10.2 Lorsque des demandes distinctes sont présentées par des personnes qui sont des personnes liées, seule la demande choisie par la société-mère sera considérée. Si la société-mère ne procède par écrit à une telle nomination celle-ci devra être faite par Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada.

10.3 Pour des informations additionnelles, veuillez communiquer avec :

M. Hugues Leroux
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international
Direction de la politique sur la réglementation commerciale (TIC)
125 promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Canada

11.0 Transférabilité d'une autorisation d'importation

11.1 En vertu de LLEI, le Ministre peut autoriser le transfert d'autorisations d'importation entre les détenteurs d'une autorisation d'importation. Toute demande de transfert d'une autorisation d'importation doit être adressée à la Direction de la politique sur la réglementation  commerciale pour approbation.

12.0 Délivrance de licences d'importation

12.1 Une licence d'importation est nécessaire pour chaque chargement de fromages de tous genres visés par le nos tarifaire 0406 du Tarif des douanes. Les importateurs peuvent se prévaloir de la Licence générale d'importation (LGI) no 100, ou peut présenter une licence d'importation qui a été délivrée à leur entreprise expressément pour cette livraison (≪ licence d'importation spécifique ≫) pour en obtenir le dédouanement. La licence d'importation spécifique doit également être présentée à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) au moment de la comptabilisation pour que la livraison soit admissible au taux de droit réduit prévue au no tarifaire 0406, pour lequel le taux est en franchise de droits des États-Unis et cents 3.32 par kg sous le taux pour une nation plus favorisée (NPF). Les chargements importées sans "licence d'importation spécifique" (c.-à-d. en vertu de la LGI) seront classées dans le no tarifaire 0406, pour lequel le taux de droit est de 245.5 % (et un minimum en dollar qui varient selon le types de fromages).

Nota : Des "licences spécifiques d’importation" ne seront pas délivrées à l'égard de livraisons déjà importées au Canada en vertu de la licence générale d'importation, quelle que soit la quote-part de l'importateur.

12.2 Conformément au Règlement sur les licences d’importation, les formalités de demande de licence établies sont les suivantes:

  1. Le demandeur doit faire soumettre un formulaire EXT-1466 « Demande de licence »  (dont une copie est jointe à titre d’annexe 1) dûment rempli.
  2. Le processus de demande de licence est décrit à l'annexe 2, qui indique également les droits, le système de facturation mensuelle et l'information que doit fournir le demandeur. Les licences d'importation sont délivrées soit au moyen du système interactif, auquel ont accès les courtiers en douane dans les grands centres du Canada, soit par le bureau des Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada.

13.0 Droits de licence

13.1 Des droits doivent être acquittés pour chaque licence émise conformément au Arrêté sur le prix des licences et des certificats en matière d'exportation et d'importation
Avis aux importateurs no 508 du 16 mai 1995.

14.0 Renseignements supplémentaires

14.1 Prière d'adresser toute demande de renseignements sur les quotes-parts à:

M. Hugues Leroux
Tél: 613-996-2594
Fax: 613-996-0612
Courriel: hugues.leroux@international.gc.ca
(Voir l'adresse indiquée au paragraphe 10.3)

14.2 Les demandes de renseignements sur la délivrance des licences et l'utilisation des quotes-parts peuvent être adressées à:

Monica Monaghan
Tél: 613-944-1808
Fax: 613-996-0612
Courriel : monica.monaghan@international.gc.ca
(Voir l’adresse indiquée au paragraphe 10.3)


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consulter la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.