Notice to Exporters

General Export Permits for Certain Nuclear and Nuclear-related Dual-use Goods and Technology to Certain Destinations

Serial No. 181
Date:May 2012

Table of Contents


Purpose

1. The purpose of this Notice is to advise exporters that, pursuant to the Export and Import Permits Act, the Minister of Foreign Affairs has issued two General Export Permits (GEPs) relating to the export of certain nuclear and nuclear-related dual-use goods and technology to certain destinations.

2. GEPs are intended to be used to facilitate trade in defined circumstances and are issued generally to all residents of Canada to allow the export of specified goods and technology that are included the on Export Control List (ECL) to certain specified destinations, subject to certain terms and conditions. GEPs do not require an individual application to be submitted to Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada for the proposed export.

3. The purpose of these GEPs is to eliminate the requirement for exporters of certain controlled goods and technology to obtain both an individual export permit from Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada and an export licence from the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission when exporting certain eligible goods and technology to certain destinations.

General

4. General Export Permit No. 43 – Nuclear Goods and Technologies to Certain Destinations (GEP 43) covers the export of eligible goods and technology referred to in Group 3 of the schedule of Canada's Export Control List, excluding those goods and technology identified in paragraph 8 of this Notice . (Section 2(1)(a) of the regulation.)

5. General Export Permit No. 44 – Nuclear Related Dual-Use Goods and Technology to Certain Destinations (GEP 44) covers the export of eligible goods and technology listed in Group 4 of the schedule of Canada's Export Control List, excluding those goods and technology identified in paragraph9 of this Notice (Section 2(1)(a) of the regulation.)

6. Both GEP 43 and GEP 44 may only be used in conjunction with an export licence issued by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) pursuant to the Nuclear Safety and Control Act. Without such a licence, exporters are required to obtain an individual export permit from Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada in order to proceed with their proposed export.

7. With the issuance of GEP 44, General Export Permit No. EX 27 – Nuclear-related Dual-Use Goods has been cancelled.

Eligible Goods and Technology

8. Under GEP 43, exporters may export, in conjunction with a CNSC licence, all goods and technology referred to in Group 3 of the schedule of Canada's Export Control List, excluding those goods and technology referred to in:

  1. items 3-2.1.1 or 3-2.1.2 of A Guide to Canada's Export Controls. (As defined in the Export Control List.); or
  2. any item that may be listed in both Group 3 and any other Group of the schedule of Canada's Export Control List

9. Under GEP 44, exporters may export, in conjunction with a CNSC licence, all goods and technology referred to in Group 4 of the schedule of Canada's Export Control List, excluding those goods and technology referred to in:

  1. items 4-1.B, 4-1.D, 4-1.E, 4-2.C.1, 4-2.C.2, 4-2.C.7, 4-2.C.10, 4-2.C.11, 4-2.C.13, 4-2.C.14, 4-3.B.3 or 4-3.B.4 of A Guide to Canada's Export Controls. (As defined in the Export Control List.); or
  2. any item that may be listed in both Group 4 and any other Group of the schedule of Canada's Export Control List.

Eligible Destinations

10. Both GEP 43 and GEP 44 may be used only to export eligible goods and technology from Canada to consignees located in the following countries: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom and the United States.

11. These permits do not authorize the export of goods or technology if the end-use location of those goods or technology is not in Canada, the United States, or any country listed in paragraph 10.

Conditions

12. Exporters wishing to utilize either GEP 43 or GEP 44 must prior to their first export in a calendar year, provide in writing to the Export Controls Division of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade their name, address, telephone number, facsimile number and electronic mail address and, in the case of a corporation, the name of a contact person and their address, telephone number, facsimile number and electronic mail address. Such information can be provided to tie.reception@international.gc.ca

13. Exporters must present to the Canada Border Services Agency, before or at the time of export, a licence issued by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission pursuant to the Nuclear Safety and Control Act that authorizes the export of the goods or technology.

14. Exporters must retain, for a period of six years after the year in which an export is made under these Permits, the following records:

  1. the item in “A Guide to Canada's Export Controls” (the Guide) in which the good or technology exported is described,
  2. the quantity and value of each good or technology exported,
  3. the date of export,
  4. the eligible destination to which the good or technology is being exported, and
  5. the name and address of the person to whom the good or technology is being exported.

15. Exporters must provide to the Export Controls Division, within 15 days after the receipt of its request, the following information with respect to any exports made under these Permits during the period specified in the request:

  1. a description of each good or technology exported and the item in the Guide in which it is described, and
  2. the quantity and value of each good or technology exported by country of destination.

16. Exportersmust insert the term “GEP-43” (“LGE 43”) or “GEP 44” (“LGE-44”) in the appropriate field of the form prescribed under the Customs Act if the good exported under this Permit is required to be reported under that Act.

General Information

17. For further information, exporters may contact:

Export Controls Division (TIE)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Telephone: 613-996-2387
Facsimile: 613-996-9933
Email: tie.reception@international.gc.ca
Internet: http://www.exportcontrols.gc.ca/

Avis aux exportateurs

Licences générales d'exportation visant les exportations de certaines marchandises et technologies nucléaires et de certaines marchandises et technologies à double usage dans le secteur nucléaire vers certaines destinations

Nº de série : 181
Date : mai 2012

Table des matières


Objet

1. Le présent Avis a pour objet d'informer les exportateurs que, conformément à la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, le ministre des Affaires étrangères a délivré deux licences générales d'exportation (LGE) visant les exportations de certaines marchandises et technologies nucléaires et de certaines marchandises et technologies à double usage dans le secteur nucléaire vers certaines destinations.

2. Les LGE ont pour but de faciliter les échanges commerciaux dans des circonstances précises. Elles sont délivrées de manière générale à tous les résidents du Canada afin de leur permettre d'exporter, vers certaines destinations spécifiées, des marchandises et des technologies particulières figurant sur la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée (LMTEC), sous réserve de certaines conditions. Pour obtenir une LGE relativement à l'exportation proposée, il n'est pas nécessaire d'en faire la demande à Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada.

3. Ces LGE visent à éliminer l'exigence pour les exportateurs de certaines marchandises et technologies contrôlées d'obtenir deux licences d'exportation, soit une licence d'exportation individuelle auprès d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada et une licence d'exportation auprès de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, afin de pouvoir exporter certaines marchandises et technologies admissibles vers certaines destinations.

Dispositions générales

4. La Licence générale d'exportation no 43 – Marchandises et technologies nucléaires exportées vers certaines destinations (LGE 43) s'applique aux exportations des marchandises et technologies admissibles du Groupe 3 de l'annexe de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée du Canada, à l'exception des marchandises et technologies visées par le paragraphe 8 du présent Avis. (Alinéa 2(1)a) du Règlement)

5. La Licence générale d'exportation no 44 – Marchandises et technologies à double usage dans le secteur nucléaire exportées vers certaines destinations (LGE 44) s'applique aux exportations des marchandises et technologies admissibles du Groupe 4 de l'annexe de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée du Canada, à l'exception des marchandises et technologies visées par le paragraphe 9 du présent Avis. (Alinéa 2(1)a) du Règlement.)

6. La LGE 43 et la LGE 44 doivent être utilisées conjointement avec une licence d'exportation délivrée par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN), conformément à la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. Les exportateurs qui ne disposent pas de cette licence doivent demander une licence d'exportation individuelle à Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada afin de pouvoir procéder à l'exportation proposée.

7. La création de la LGE 44 a mené à l'annulation de la Licence générale d'exportation no EX 27 - Marchandises à double usage dans le secteur nucléaire.

Marchandises et technologies admissibles

8. En vertu de la LGE 43, les exportateurs peuvent exporter, s'ils disposent d'une licence délivrée par la CCSN, toutes les marchandises et technologies du Groupe 3 de l'annexe de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée du Canada, à l'exception des marchandises et technologies visées par :

  1. les articles 3-2.1.1 ou 3-2.1.2 du Guide des contrôles à l'exportation du Canada. (tel qu'il est défini dans la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée);
  2. tout article pouvant figurer à la fois dans le Groupe 3 et dans tout autre groupe de l'annexe de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée du Canada.

9. En vertu de la LGE 44, les exportateurs peuvent exporter, s'ils disposent d'une licence délivrée par la CCSN, toutes les marchandises et technologies du Groupe 4 de l'annexe de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée du Canada, à l'exception des marchandises et technologies visées par :

  1. les articles 4-1.B, 4-1.D, 4-1.E, 4-2.C.1, 4-2.C.2, 4-2.C.7, 4-2.C.10, 4-2.C.11, 4 2.C.13, 4-2.C.14, 4-3.B.3 ou 4-3.B.4 du Guide des contrôles à l'exportation du Canada. (Tel qu'il est défini dans la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée);
  2. tout article pouvant figurer à la fois dans le Groupe 4 et dans tout autre groupe de l'annexe de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée du Canada.

Destinations admissibles

10. La LGE 43 et la LGE 44 ne peuvent être utilisées que pour exporter des marchandises et des technologies du Canada à des destinataires situés dans les pays suivants : Allemagne, Argentine, Australie, Autriche, Belgique, Bulgarie, Corée du Sud, Danemark, Espagne, États-Unis, Finlande, France, Grèce, Hongrie, Irlande, Italie, Japon, Luxembourg, Norvège, Nouvelle-Zélande, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Portugal, République tchèque, Royaume-Uni, Suède, Suisse, Turquie et Ukraine.

11. Cette licence n'autorise pas l'exportation de marchandises ou de technologies si l'emplacement de l'utilisation finale de ces marchandises ou technologies ne se trouve pas au Canada, aux États-Unis ou dans l'un des pays énumérés au paragraphe 10.

Conditions

12. Les exportateurs qui souhaitent utiliser la LGE 43 ou la LGE 44 doivent, avant d'effectuer leur première exportation au cours d'une année civile, fournir les renseignements suivants les concernant à la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada : nom, adresse, numéro de téléphone, numéro de télécopieur et adresse électronique. S'il s'agit d'une entreprise, celle-ci doit également fournir le nom d'une personne‑ressource, son numéro de téléphone, son numéro de télécopieur et son adresse électronique.

13. Les exportateurs doivent présenter à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, avant ou au moment d'effectuer l'exportation, une licence délivrée par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire conformément à la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires autorisant l'exportation des marchandises ou des technologies.

14. Les exportateurs doivent conserver les dossiers suivants pendant six ans après l'année au cours de laquelle l'exportation a été effectuée en vertu de ces licences :

  1. l'article du « Guide des contrôles à l'exportation du Canada » (le Guide) qui décrit la marchandise ou la technologie exportée;
  2. la quantité et la valeur de chaque marchandise ou technologie exportée;
  3. la date de l'exportation;
  4. la destination admissible vers laquelle la marchandise ou la technologie est exportée;
  5. le nom et l'adresse de la personne à qui la marchandise ou la technologie est exportée.

15. Les exportateurs doivent fournir à la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation, dans les quinze jours suivant la date de réception de la demande, les renseignements suivants concernant toute exportation effectuée en vertu de ces Licences durant la période indiquée dans la demande :

  1. l'article du « Guide des contrôles à l'exportation du Canada – 2007 » (le Guide) qui décrit la marchandise ou la technologie exportée;
  2. la quantité et la valeur de chaque marchandise ou technologie exportée;

16. Les exportateurs doivent indiquer le terme «  LGE 43 » («  GEP-43 ») ou «  LGE-44 » («  GEP 44 ») dans la case appropriée du formulaire prévu par la Loi sur les douanes lorsque la marchandise exportée en vertu de ces Licences doit être déclarée selon la Loi en question.

Renseignements généraux

17. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, les exportateurs peuvent communiquer avec la :

Direction des contrôles à l'exportation (TIE)
Direction générale des licences d'exportation et d'importation
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2
Téléphone : 613-996-2387
Télécopieur : 613-996-9933
Courriel : tie.reception@international.gc.ca
Site Web : http://www.controlesalexportation.gc.ca