Responsible business conduct abroad – Questions and answers

Canadian Ombudsperson for Responsible Enterprise (Ombudsperson)

What is the mandate of the Ombudsperson?
  • The Ombudsperson’s mandate is to address complaints related to allegations of human rights abuses arising from a Canadian company’s activity abroad.
  • The Ombudsperson is mandated to undertake collaborative and independent fact-finding, make recommendations, monitor implementation of those recommendations, and report publicly throughout the process.
  • The mandate and associated responsibilities are outlined through an Order in Council (2019-0299).
How was the Ombudsperson selected and what is the duration of its term?
  • The selection process was guided by an open, transparent, and merit-based process.
  • The Ombudsperson was appointed through an Order in Council (2019-0300) and will serve full-time for a term of up to five years.
When will the Ombudsperson be operational?
  • The intention is to have the Ombudsperson office operational as soon as possible.
How is the Ombudsperson different from the Extractive Sector Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Counsellor?
  • The Ombudsperson is empowered to investigate independently. The Ombudsperson is mandated to pursue collaborative fact-finding, wherever possible.
  • To improve transparency, the Ombudsperson will report at various stages of an investigation process and when monitoring recommendations, while much of the CSR Counsellor’s work of initiating informal dialogue was confidential.
  • With the Ombudsperson, Canada is moving toward a multi-sector approach. The CSR Counsellor’s mandate was focused on the extractive sector only.
  • The Ombudsperson was appointed for a term of up to five years. The CSR Counsellor served a three year term.
How is the Ombudsperson different from the Canadian National Contact Point (NCP)?
  • Canada’s National Contact Point (NCP), required under the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises, continues to fulfill its mandate of dialogue facilitation or mediation for all sectors for a wide range of issues, such as disclosure, employment and industrial relations, environment and bribery.
  • The Ombudsperson role is focused on investigations, informal resolution of disputes, and on making public recommendations.
  • The roles of the Canadian NCP and the Ombudsperson are complementary, whereby the Ombudsperson may refer cases to the NCP for formal mediation, where appropriate, and where parties are in agreement.
What is the role of the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service with the creation of an Ombudsperson?
  • The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) provides advice and guidance on responsible business conduct for Canadian companies doing business abroad. The TCS actively promotes awareness and understanding of the importance of responsible business practices and creates opportunities for relationship building through conferences, workshops and other activities involving companies, representatives of host governments, and civil society.
  • The TCS will receive enhanced training on Canada’s new approach to support providing services to Canadian client companies around the world, in line with the Government of Canada’s expectations for responsible business conduct abroad, and Canada’s new guidelines on supporting human rights defenders.
  • For certain types of enhanced services, the TCS requires that companies sign an Integrity Declaration, which refers to the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises and declares that a company is doing business responsibly, ethically and within the law.
How is the appointment of an Ombudsperson considered an improvement to Canada’s approach on CSR abroad?
  • Building on Canada’s existing expertise and leadership in corporate social responsibility, the creation of an Ombudsperson demonstrates our continued commitment to responsible business conduct, human rights and progressive trade that ensures all segments of society can benefit from the opportunities that flow from trade and investment. 
  • The appointment of an independent Ombudsperson provides a strengthened approach to address alleged human rights abuses arising from a Canadian company’s operations abroad. The Ombudsperson has a wider mandate than existing mechanisms, with the ability to:
    • undertake collaborative fact-finding;
    • initiate independent fact-finding, even without the submission of a complaint;
    • report throughout an investigation; and
    • make recommendations to parties involved in the complaint, as well as to the Canadian Government. 
  • The Ombudsperson’s mandate covers the garment, mining, and oil and gas sectors, which represents a significant expansion. Together with the Canadian National Contact Point, Canada now has two mechanisms, with complementary roles, to support dispute resolution for multiple sectors.
  • With a scope that extends beyond the extractive sector, the government has more options to respond to alleged human rights abuses that arise in other sectors of business. This increased scope further underscores our commitment to responsible business conduct in all sectors.
  • The longer term (up to five years) also allows for more independency and consistency in operations.
What sectors will be covered under the Ombudsperson mandate?
  • Initially, the Ombudsperson will cover cases in the garment, mining, and oil and gas industries. 
  • Expansion to additional sectors is expected after the first year, informed by advice from the multi-stakeholder Advisory Body on Responsible Business Conduct.
What teeth does the Ombudsperson have? How will the Office of Ombudsperson deal with companies that do not cooperate with the Office
  • The Government is committed to ensuring that the Ombudsperson has all the tools required to ensure compliance with information requests – including the compelling of witnesses and documents – in the hopefully very rare circumstances where a company is not fully and appropriately cooperating.
  • The Ombudsperson will operate with a budget sufficient to allow her to conduct complex collaborative and independent investigations.
What penalties will be applied to business if the Ombudsperson uncovers wrongdoing abroad? / What remedy can complainants expect?
  • The Ombudsperson can recommend sanctions, which include the withdrawal of certain Government services, such as trade advocacy and future Export Development Canada support, for companies found to be involved in wrongdoing.
  • In the Ombudsperson’s final report, the Ombudsperson can also make specific public recommendations to companies which will be monitored. This could include recommending compensation, an apology, cessation of particular activities, mitigation measures or corporate policy changes.
  • Any evidence of Canadian criminal wrongdoing will be provided to the appropriate law enforcement authority, including the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.  
How much independence does the Ombudsperson have? For example, is the Ombudsperson able to initiate independent investigations and publish its findings?
  • The Ombudsperson retains full discretion to undertake collaborative and independent fact-finding to address allegations of human rights abuses by Canadian companies operating abroad.
  • To improve transparency, the Ombudsperson will publicly report at various stages – another important distinction - of an investigation process and when monitoring recommendations.
  • The Minister of International Trade will table the Ombudsperson’s annual reports in Parliament. Before being published, all reports will be shared with the Minister and the parties to ensure procedural fairness. 
What are the investigative powers of the Ombudsperson?
  • The Ombudsperson has the ability to conduct collaborative and independent fact-finding, as relevant and appropriate.
  • When companies do not cooperate in the process, the Ombudsperson has the ability to recommend denial or withdrawal of trade advocacy and future Export Development Canada financial support, as an interim measure or as a final recommendation. This sanction provides leverage to encourage companies to meaningfully participate in the process.
  • The Government is committed to ensuring that the Ombudsperson has all the tools required to ensure compliance with information requests in the hopefully very rare circumstances where a company is not fully and appropriately cooperating.
What is the Ombudsperson’s complaint or investigation process?
  • Standard Operating Procedures will be established by the Ombudsperson in consultation with the Department’s legal advisors, other implicated federal departments, and the Advisory Body on Responsible Business Conduct. They will be made available to the public online so that the Ombudsperson’s process is clear, predictable and transparent.
How should complaints be submitted?
  • After the Ombudsperson’s Office is fully functional, a web portal will enable public submissions. There will also be an option to make submissions by mail, for those who do not have access to a computer or the internet.
What appeals process is there if my company is subject to a complaint?
  • Standard Operating Procedures will be established in consultation with the Department’s legal advisors, other implicated federal departments, and the Advisory Body on Responsible Business Conduct. They will be made available to the public online so that the Ombudsperson’s process is clear, predictable and transparent. 
I own a small company with operations abroad. What rules should I follow to ensure I am not investigated?
  • All Canadian companies operating abroad, regardless of size, are expected to respect human rights, all applicable laws and international standards, to operate transparently and in consultation with host governments and local communities, and to work in a socially and environmentally responsible manner.
  • Companies should operate in a manner consistent with recognized business and human rights standards including the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights and the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises.
  • The Government of Canada provides guidance and resources to support Canadian companies to make informed decisions and operate responsibly abroad. Companies are invited to connect with a Canadian trade commissioner at one of the regional offices across Canada, or in the country where they are operating to learn more.
Does the Ombudsperson serve as a replacement for bringing claims against Canadian mining companies to Canadian courts?
  • The creation of the Ombudsperson’s office does not affect the right of any party to bring a legal action in a court in any jurisdiction in Canada regarding allegations of harms committed by a Canadian company abroad.
Can the Ombudsperson make recommendations to the Government of Canada?
  • The Ombudsperson can recommend the withdrawal of certain Government services, such as trade advocacy and future Export Development Canada support, for companies found to be involved in wrongdoing.
  • The Ombudsperson can make recommendations to the Government on fulfilling Canada’s human rights obligations, and the effective implementation and development of its laws, policies and practices related to responsible business conduct by Canadian companies operating abroad in all sectors.

Conduite responsable des entreprises à l’étranger – Foire aux questions

Ombudsman canadien de l’entreprise responsable (l’ombudsman)

Quel est le mandat de l’ombudsman?
  • Le mandat de l’ombudsman consiste à se pencher sur des plaintes concernant des allégations de violations des droits de la personne causées par les activités d’une entreprise canadienne à l’étranger.
  • L’ombudsman a le mandat de procéder à des recherches en collaboration et indépendantes des faits et est habilité à formuler des recommandations, à exercer une surveillance de la mise en œuvre de ses recommandations, en plus de publier des rapports durant la période de l’enquête.
  • Le mandat et les responsabilités connexes sont définis par décret (2019-1323).
Comment l’ombudsman a-t-elle été sélectionnée et quelle sera la durée de son mandat?
  • La sélection a suivi un processus ouvert, transparent et fondé sur le mérite.
  • L’ombudsman a été nommée par décret (2019-0300), et exercera ses fonctions à temps plein pour une durée d’au plus cinq ans.
Quand l’ombudsman entrera-t-il en fonction?
  • On prévoit avoir un bureau de l’ombudsman opérationnel dès que possible.
En quoi les fonctions de l’ombudsman sont-elles différentes de celles du conseiller en responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) de l’industrie extractive?
  • L’ombudsman adoptera l’approche de la recherche conjointe des faits comme principal outil de travail, mais elle conserve néanmoins le pouvoir de mener une recherche indépendante des faits, au besoin.
  • Pour améliorer la transparence, l’ombudsman fera rapport à diverses étapes d’un processus d’enquête et de la surveillance des recommandations, alors que la majorité du travail du conseiller en RSE pour établir un dialogue informel était de nature confidentielle.
  • Avec l’ombudsman, le Canada adopte une approche multisectorielle. Le mandat du conseiller en RSE visait uniquement le secteur de l’industrie extractive.
  • Le mandat de l’ombudsman est d’une durée pouvant atteindre cinq ans. Le mandat du conseiller en RSE était de trois ans.
En quoi les fonctions de l’ombudsman sont-elles différentes de celles du Point de contact national (PCN) du Canada?
  • Le Point de contact national (PCN) du Canada, requis aux termes des Principes directeurs de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) à l’intention des entreprises multinationales continuera de remplir son mandat de facilitation du dialogue ou de médiation pour tous les secteurs sur un large éventail d’enjeux, comme la divulgation, l’emploi et les relations du travail, l’environnement et la corruption.
  • L’ombudsman se concentrera sur des enquêtes effectuées, la résolution informelle des conflits et sur la formulation de recommandations publiques.
  • Les rôles du PCN du Canada et du nouvel ombudsman sont complémentaires, car l’ombudsman peut soumettre des dossiers au PCN au besoin et lorsque les parties sont d’accord.
Comment la création d’un ombudsman affectera-t-elle le rôle du Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada?
  • Le Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC) du Canada donne des conseils et une orientation quant à la conduite responsable des affaires pour les entreprises canadiennes actives à l’étranger. Le SDC agit activement pour sensibiliser les intervenants à l’importance des pratiques commerciales responsables et les aider à mieux les comprendre, et il crée des possibilités d’établissement de relations grâce à des conférences, à des ateliers et à d’autres activités à l’intention des entreprises, des représentants des gouvernements des pays hôtes et de la société civile.
  • Les membres du SDC recevront une formation avancée sur la nouvelle approche du Canada à l’appui de la prestation de services aux entreprises canadiennes clientes dans le monde entier, conformément aux attentes du gouvernement du Canada quant à la conduite responsable des affaires à l’étranger.
  • Pour certains types de services supérieurs, le SDC exige que les entreprises signent une Déclaration sur l’intégrité, qui renvoie aux Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales, et déclare qu’une entreprise mène des affaires de manière responsable et éthique, en respectant le cadre légal établi.
Pourquoi la nomination d’un ombudsman est-elle considérée comme une amélioration de l’approche du Canada à l’égard de la RSE?
  • En tirant parti de l’expertise et du leadership actuels du Canada quant à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, la création du poste d’ombudsman illustre notre engagement continu à l’égard de la conduite responsable des entreprises, des droits de la personne et du commerce progressiste, qui permettent à tous les segments de la société de bénéficier des possibilités découlant du commerce et des investissements.
  • La nomination d’une ombudsman indépendante fournit une approche plus ferme pour s’attaquer aux allégations de violation des droits de la personne découlant des activités d’une entreprise canadienne à l’étranger. L’ombudsman a un mandat plus large que les mécanismes existants, avec la capacité :
    • d’entreprendre des recherches conjointes des faits;
    • d’entreprendre des recherches indépendantes des faits, même sans attendre le dépôt d’une plainte;
    • de faire rapport à toutes les étapes d’une enquête;
    • de faire des recommandations aux parties concernées par la plainte ainsi qu’au gouvernement canadien. 
  • Le mandat de l’ombudsman couvre les secteurs du textile, minier, pétrolier et gazier, ce qui constitue un élargissement considérable. Avec le Point de contact national du Canada, le Canada dispose dorénavant de deux mécanismes, dont les rôles sont complémentaires, pour la résolution des différends dans de multiples secteurs.
  • La portée allant au-delà de l’industrie extractive, le gouvernement dispose de plus d’options pour réagir face aux allégations de violation des droits de la personne découlant des autres secteurs d’activité. Cette portée élargie souligne encore davantage notre engagement envers la conduite responsable des affaires dans tous les secteurs.
  • Le mandat plus long (jusqu’à cinq ans) permet aussi plus d’autonomie et de cohérence dans les opérations.
Quels secteurs sont visés par le mandat de l’ombudsman?
  • Au départ, l’ombudsman couvrira des cas dans les secteurs du textile, minier, pétrolier et gazier.
  • L’élargissement de son mandat à d’autres secteurs devrait se faire après la première année, sur les indications du Groupe consultatif multipartite sur la conduite responsable des entreprises.
Quel sont les pouvoirs de l’ombudsman? Comment le Bureau de l’ombudsman gèrera-t-il les entreprises qui ne coopèrent pas?
  • Le gouvernement prendrait alors des mesures pour que l’ombudsman dispose de toute une gamme d'outils y compris la convocation de témoins et de documents dans les très rares cas, espérons-le, où une entreprise ne coopèrerait pas pleinement et de manière appropriée.
  • Le Bureau de l’ombudsman est doté d’un budget qui lui permettra de mener des enquêtes complexes de façon indépendante ou par le biais de recherches conjointes des faits.
Quelles sanctions seront imposées aux entreprises si l’ombudsman découvre des actes répréhensibles commis à l’étranger? /À quel recours les plaignants peuvent-ils s’attendre?
  • L’ombudsman peut recommander des sanctions qui comprennent le retrait du soutien à la défense des intérêts commerciaux et du soutien financier d’Exportation et Développement Canada comme mesure provisoire ou recommandation finale, advenant qu’une entreprise ne participe pas de bonne foi au processus.
  • Dans le rapport final de l’ombudsman, l’ombudsman peut également inclure des recommandations publiques particulières à l’intention d’entreprises, qui feront l’objet d’une surveillance. Il pourrait s’agir de recommander une compensation, des excuses, la cessation d’activités en particulier, des mesures d’atténuation ou des changements aux politiques de l’entreprise.
  • Toute preuve d’actes répréhensibles criminels commis par une entité canadienne sera transmise à l’organisation d’exécution de la loi pertinente, y compris la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.
À quel point l’ombudsman est-t-elle indépendante? L’ombudsman peu-t-elle, par exemple, ouvrir une enquête indépendante et publier ses conclusions?
  • L’ombudsman a le pouvoir discrétionnaire de lancer des recherches conjointes des faits et des recherches indépendantes des faits pour donner suite à des allégations de violation des droits de la personne par des entreprises canadiennes actives à l’étranger.
  • Pour assurer une transparence accrue, l’ombudsman publiera des rapports tout au long des enquêtes et pendant la période de suivi des recommandations.
  • Le ministre du Commerce international déposera le Rapport annuel de l’ombudsman devant le Parlement. Avant qu’ils ne soient publiés, tous les rapports seront transmis au ministre et aux parties impliquées afin d’assurer l’équité procédurale.
Quels sont les pouvoirs d’enquête de l’ombudsman?
  • L’ombudsman peut exécuter des recherches des faits en collaboration ou des recherches indépendantes des faits, selon ce qu’elle conviendra.
  • Lorsque les entreprises refusent de coopérer au processus, l’ombudsman a la capacité de recommander le refus ou le retrait du soutien à la défense des intérêts commerciaux et du soutien financier d’Exportation et Développement Canada, comme mesure provisoire ou recommandation finale. Cet outil considérable de persuasion incitera les entreprises à participer de façon constructive au processus.
  • Le gouvernement est déterminé à faire en sorte que l’ombudsman dispose de toute une gamme d'outils, dans les très rares cas, espérons-le, où une entreprise ne coopèrerait pas pleinement et de manière appropriée.
Quel est le processus de plainte ou d’enquête de l’ombudsman?
  • Des procédures opérationnelles normalisées seront établies en consultation avec les conseillers juridiques du ministère, les autres ministères concernés et le Conseil consultatif sur la conduite responsable des entreprises. Le public pourra en prendre connaissance en ligne afin que le processus soit clair, prévisible et transparent.
Comment les plaintes doivent-elles être déposées?
  • Après que le Bureau de l’ombudsman est pleinement opérationnel, un portail Web permettra au public de déposer des plaintes. Les personnes qui n’ont pas accès à un ordinateur ou à Internet auront la possibilité de déposer une plainte par courrier.
Quelles sont les procédures d’appel si mon entreprise fait l’objet d’une plainte?
  • Des procédures opérationnelles normalisées seront établies en consultation avec les conseillers juridiques du ministère, les autres ministères concernés et le Conseil consultatif sur la conduite responsable des entreprises. Le public pourra en prendre connaissance en ligne afin que le processus soit clair, prévisible et transparent.
Je possède une petite entreprise qui mène des activités à l’étranger. Quelles règles dois-je observer pour éviter de faire l’objet d’une enquête?
  • Toutes les entreprises canadiennes qui mènent des activités à l’étranger, quelle que soit leur taille, sont censées respecter les droits de la personne, toutes les lois applicables et les normes internationales; fonctionner dans la transparence et après consultation avec les gouvernements hôtes et les collectivités locales, et travailler de manière responsable sur le plan social et environnemental.
  • Les entreprises doivent agir en conformité avec les normes commerciales reconnues et les droits de la personne, y compris les Principes directeurs des Nations Unies relatifs aux entreprises et aux droits de l’homme et les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales.
  • Le gouvernement du Canada offre des conseils et des ressources aux entreprises canadiennes pour les aider à prendre des décisions éclairées et agir de façon responsable à l’étranger. On invite les entreprises à communiquer avec un délégué commercial du Canada à un des bureaux régionaux au Canada, ou dans le pays où elles font des affaires pour en apprendre davantage.
Est-ce-que l'ombudsman sert de substitut pour intenter des poursuites contre des sociétés minières canadiennes devant les tribunaux canadiens?
  • La création du bureau de l'ombudsman ne porte pas atteinte au droit de toute partie d'intenter une action en justice devant un tribunal dans une juridiction quelconque au Canada concernant des allégations de méfaits commis par une société canadienne à l'étranger.
Est-ce-que l'ombudsman peut faire des recommandations au gouvernement du Canada?
  • L’ombudsman peut recommander le retrait de certains services gouvernementaux, tels que la défense des intérêts commerciaux et le soutien futur d'Exportation et développement Canada, à l'égard des entreprises reconnues coupables d'actes répréhensibles.
  • L'ombudsman peut faire des recommandations au gouvernement sur les obligations du Canada en matière de droits de la personne et la mise en œuvre et le développement efficaces de ses lois, politiques et pratiques relatives à la conduite responsable des entreprises canadiennes à l'étranger dans tous les secteurs.