Notice to Exporters

Apparel for Export to the European Union and its Member States (Item 5209 on Canada’s Export Control List)

Serial No. 215
Date: January 16, 2019

This Notice is provided pursuant to the authority of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) and its corresponding regulations. This Notice will remain in effect until further notice.

In Brief:

Under the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) between Canada and the European Union (EU) and its Member States, the EU agreed to establish origin quotas for imports of textiles and apparel from Canada.

The origin quota year extends from January 1 to December 31, inclusive.

Exports from Canada of certain apparel that are eligible under CETA origin quotas are subject to export controls under the EIPA. Accordingly, an export permit is required for shipments of this apparel from Canada to the EU in order to obtain the preferential tariff rate under CETA.  Specific products requiring export permits are identified in section 3.1 of this Notice.

Exports from Canada to the European Union of all textiles and most apparel that are eligible under CETA origin quotas are not subject to export controls under the EIPA.  Accordingly, export permits are not required for shipments of these products.

Effective January 1, 2019, the origin quotas for 62.01 and 62.02 has increased as a result of meeting the targets for the growth provision.  The new quota amounts are 98,880 units for 62.01 and 101,970 units for 62.02.

This Notice to Exporters sets out the policies and practices pertaining to the administration of Canadian exports under the CETA origin quota for the certain apparel that are subject to export controls, and explains how to apply for export permits.

Table of Contents

1.0 Purpose

1.1 The purpose of this Notice is to:

  • Set out the Minister’s policies and practices pertaining to the administration of the origin quotas for Canadian exports of apparel covered by this Notice; and
  • Explain how to apply for export permits.

2.0 General Information

2.1 Background

2.2 Under CETA origin quotas, certain products that do not satisfy the product-specific rules of origin under Annex 5: Product-Specific Rules of Origin may qualify as originating under alternative product-specific rules of origin as specified in  Annex 5-A: Origin quotas and alternatives to the product-specific rules of origin in annex 5 (Annex 5-A).

2.3 The origin quotas specify the quantity of a product(s) that can qualify as originating and receive preferential CETA tariff treatment. In order to receive this treatment the product must meet the product description and undergo sufficient production to satisfy the applicable product-specific rule of origin associated with that origin quota.

2.4 Weekly utilization rates for exports that require export permits for origin quota-eligible shipments are available online. The EU also publishes quota utilization rates on its EUROPA website.

3.0 Products Covered

3.1 This Notice pertains specifically to the following products, listed in Table C.2 of Annex 5-A, which sets out the CETA provisions applicable to textiles and apparel.

HS CodeProduct Description
6102.30Women's or girls' overcoats, car coats, capes, cloaks, anoraks, ski-jackets and similar articles of manmade fibres, knitted or crocheted
61.04Women's or girls' suits, ensembles, suit-type jackets, blazers, dresses, skirts, divided skirts, trousers, etc. (no swimwear), knitted or crocheted
6108.92Women's or girls' negligees, bathrobes, dressing gowns and similar articles of manmade fibres, knitted or crocheted
61.14Garments not elsewhere specified or included, knitted or crocheted
62.01Men's or boys' overcoats car coats, capes, cloaks, anoraks (including ski-jackets), windcheaters, wind-jackets and similar articles, not knitted or crocheted, other than those of heading 6203
62.05Men's or boys' shirts, not knitted or crocheted

3.2 A detailed list of the origin quota products that are subject to export controls under the EIPA may be found in the Handbook of Export and Import Commodity Codes.

4.0 Access Level

4.1 The annual origin quota access levels applicable to textiles and apparel, including apparel covered by this Notice, are set out in Tables C.1 and C.2 of Annex 5-A.

4.2 Exporters should note that the units of measure are as listed in Annex 5-A. There are no conversion factors.

4.3 CETA contains growth factors for the textiles and apparel origin quotas that provide for an increase in the volume of the origin quotas if certain conditions are met. The growth factors are outlined at the end of Table C.4 in Annex 5-A.

4.4 The annual quota outlined in Annex 5-A will always reflect the original negotiated quota.  The current annual quotas, including any applicable growth provisions, can be viewed in the CETA origin quota utilization tables.  Effective January 1, 2019, the origin quotas for 62.01 and 62.02 have increased.  The new amounts are 98,880 units for 62.01 and 101,970 units for 62.02.

5.0 Export Permits

5.1 Types of Permits

5.1.1 A shipment-specific export permit is required for every shipment of apparel covered by this Notice in order to receive preferential tariff treatment available through the origin quota.

5.1.2 Shipment-specific export permits for products covered by this Notice are issued on a first-come, first-served basis.

5.1.3 Once an origin quota has been fully utilized, export permits will not be issued.

5.1.4 The Export Permit Regulations (Non-strategic Products) may be found online.

5.2 Accessing CETA Origin Quotas for Textiles and Apparel

5.2.1 As outlined in paragraph 3 of Annex 5-A of CETA, the EU administers access to origin quotas on a first-come, first-served basis.

5.2.2 Pursuant to Paragraph 5 of Annex 5-A, Canada has notified the EU of Global Affairs Canada-issued export permit requirements for products exported under the applicable origin quotas, including apparel covered by this Notice. Accordingly, under Paragraph 6 of Annex 5-A, the EU shall only provide preferential tariff treatment based on the alternative rule of origin for the origin quotas to products accompanied by an export permit.

5.2.3 In accordance with the CETA Protocol on rules of origin and origin procedures, the exporter of the product is required to provide an origin declaration to the importer. This applies to all origin quota-eligible products, whether or not they require an export permit issued by Global Affairs Canada.

5.2.4 In order for the exporter to identify origin quota exports to the EU and to inform the importer of the application of Annex 5-A, the exporter must include a reference to Annex 5-A on the commercial invoice or other commercial document, and provide the importer with a copy of the export permit. In accordance with paragraph 4 of Annex 5-A, the Parties shall not count any products against the annual origin quota without such reference. This applies to all origin quota-eligible products, whether or not they require an export permit issued by Global Affairs Canada. 

5.3 How to Apply for a Permit

5.3.1 Information about the permit application process, including information about fees, the monthly billing system, and information required from applicants, is available on the Global Affairs Canada website: Applying for an Export Permit (Non-strategic Products).

6.0 Contact us

6.1 Contact information is available on the Global Affairs Canada website: Contact Us.

6.2 For directory assistance, you may call 343-203-6820, or email: tic@international.gc.ca.

Avis aux exportateurs

Vêtements destinés à l’exportation vers l’Union européenne et ses États membres (Article 5209 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée du Canada)

No de série 215
Date : 16 janvier 2019

Le présent avis est établi sous le régime de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI) et des règlements connexes. L’avis demeure en vigueur jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

En bref

En vertu de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) conclu entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (UE) et ses États membres, l’UE a convenu d’établir des contingents liés à l’origine pour les importations du Canada des textiles et des vêtements.

L’année contingentaire s’échelonne du 1er janvier au 31 décembre, inclusivement.

Les exportations du Canada pour certains vêtements admissibles aux contingents liés à l’origine de l’AECG sont assujetties aux mesures de contrôle des exportations prévues par la LLEI. Par conséquent, une licence d’exportation est requise pour l’expédition de ces produits du Canada vers l’UE afin qu’ils puissent bénéficier d’un traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu des contingents liés à l’origine. Les produits spécifiques nécessitant une licence d'exportation sont identifiés à la section 3.1 du présent avis.

Les exportations du Canada vers l’UE pour tous les textiles et la pluparts des vêtements qui sont admissibles aux contingents liés à l’origine de l’AECG ne sont pas assujetties aux mesures de contrôle des exportations prévues par la LLEI. Par conséquent, une licence d’exportation n’est pas requise pour l’expédition de ces produits.

À compter du 1er janvier 2019, les contingents liés à l’origine pour les catégories 62.01 et 62.02 ont augmenté en raison de l’atteinte des objectifs de la disposition relative à la croissance. Les nouveaux volumes sont de 98 880 unités pour la catégorie 62.01, et de 101 970 unités pour la catégorie 62.02.

Le présent avis aux exportateurs énonce les politiques et les pratiques relatives à l’administration des exportations canadiennes en vertu des contingents liés à l’origine de l’AECG pour certains vêtements qui sont assujetties aux mesures de contrôle des exportations, et il explique comment présenter une demande de licence d’exportation.

Table des matières

1.0 Objectif

1.1 Le présent avis a pour objet :

  • d’énoncer les politiques et les pratiques du ministre relatives à l’administration des contingents liés à l’origine pour l’exportation des vêtements; et
  • d’expliquer comment présenter une demande  de licence d’exportation.

2.0 Renseignements généraux

2.1 Context

2.2 En vertu des contingents liés à l’origine de l’AECG, certains produits qui ne respectent pas la règle d’origine en vertu de l’annexe 5 : Règles d'origine spécifiques aux produits peuvent être désignés originaires en vertu des règles d’origine « alternatives » pour les contingents liés à l’origine, comme il est énoncé à l’annexe 5-A : Contingents liés à l’origine et solutions de rechange aux règles d’origine spécifiques de l’annexe 5 (annexe 5-A).

2.3 Les contingents liés à l’origine précisent la quantité de produits qui peuvent être qualifiés d’originaires et recevoir un traitement tarifaire préférentiel de l’AECG. Pour recevoir ce traitement, le produit doit correspondre à la description du produit et subir un niveau de transformation suffisante  pour satisfaire à la règle d’origine spécifique de l’AECG qui est associée à ce contingent lié à l’origine.

2.4 Les taux d’utilisation hebdomadaire des exportations canadiennes en vertu du contingent lié à l’origine établi pour les produits sont disponibles en ligne. L’UE publie également ses taux d’utilisation contingentaire sur son site EUROPA.

3.0 Produits visés

3.1 Le présent avis concerne les produits énumérés au tableau C.2 de l'annexe 5-A, qui énonce les dispositions du l’AECG applicables aux textiles et vêtements.

No de SHDescription du produit
6102.30Manteaux, cabans, capes, anoraks, blousons et articles similaires, de fibres synthétiques ou artificielles, en bonneterie, pour hommes ou garçonnets
61.04Costumes tailleurs, ensembles, vestes, robes, jupes, jupes-culottes, pantalons, etc. (autres que pour le bain), en bonneterie, pour femmes ou fillettes
6108.92Déshabillés, peignoirs de bain, robes de chambre et articles similaires, de fibres synthétiques ou artificielles, en bonneterie, pour femmes ou fillettes
61.14Autres vêtements, non dénommés ni compris ailleurs, en bonneterie
62.01Manteaux, cabans, capes, anoraks, blousons et articles similaires, autres qu'en bonneterie, pour hommes ou garçonnets, à l'exclusion des articles de la position 62.03
62.05Chemises et chemisettes, autres qu'en bonneterie, pour hommes ou garçonnets

3.2 Le Manuel des codes de marchandises pour l’exportation et l’importation renferme une liste détaillée des produits visés par ces contingents liés à l’origine sujets aux mesures de contrôle sur l’exportation en vertu de la LLEI.

4.0 Niveau d’accès

4.1 Les contingents liés à l’origine annuel établi pour les textiles et les vêtements, y compris les vêtements qui sont visés par le présent avis, sont décrit aux tableaux C.1 et C.2 de l’annexe 5-A :

4.2 Les importateurs devraient noter que les unités de mesure sont énumérées à l'annexe 5-A. Il n'y a pas de facteurs de conversion.

4.3 L'AECG contient des facteurs de croissance pour chacun des contingents lié à l'origine couverts par cet avis qui prévoient une augmentation du volume du contingent lié à l'origine si certaines conditions sont remplies. Les facteurs de croissance sont décrits à la fin du tableau C.4 de l'annexe 5-A.

4.4 Le contingent annuel indiqué à l’annexe 5-A correspond toujours au contingent négocié à l’origine. Les contingents annuels actuels, y compris toute disposition de croissance applicable, peuvent être consultés dans les tableaux d’utilisation des contingents liés à l’origine de l’AECG. À compter du 1er janvier 2019, les contingents liés à l’origine pour les catégories 62.01 et 62.02 ont augmenté. Les nouveaux volumes sont de 98 880 unités pour la catégorie 62.01 et de 101 970 unités pour la catégorie 62.02.

5.0 Licences d’exportation

5.1 Types de licence

5.1.1 Une licence d’exportation spécifique est requise pour chaque envoi de vêtements visés par le présent avis afin de bénéficier du traitement tarifaire préférentiel qu’offre le contingent lié à l’origine.

5.1.2 Les autorisations d'exportation spécifiques à l'expédition pour les produits couverts par cet avis sont délivrées selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

5.1.3 Lorsque le contingent lié à l’origine est entièrement utilisé, la délivrance des licences d’exportation sera suspendue.

5.1.4 Le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation (produits non stratégiques) peut être consulté en ligne.

5.2 Accéder aux contingents liés à l’origine de l’AECG pour les textiles et les vêtements

5.2.1 Comme il est décrit au paragraphe 3 de l’annexe 5-A, l’UE gère l’accès aux contingents lié à l’origine selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

5.2.2 Conformément au paragraphe 5 de l’annexe 5-A, le Canada a avisé l’UE des exigences relatives aux licences d’exportation délivrées par Affaires mondiales Canada en vertu du contingent lié à l’origine applicable. Par conséquent, en vertu du paragraphe 6 de l’annexe 5-A, l’UE n’accorde un traitement tarifaire préférentiel fondé sur la règle d’origine de rechange pour les contingents lié à l’origine qu’aux produits assortis d’une telle licence.

5.2.3 Conformément au Protocole sur les règles d’origine et les procédures d’origine de l’AECG, l’exportateur du produit est tenu de fournir une déclaration d’origine à l’importateur.

5.2.4 Pour que l’exportateur puisse identifier les exportations effectuées dans le cadre du contingent lié à l’origine à l’UE et informer l’importateur de l’application de l’annexe 5-A, l’exportateur doit faire référence à l’annexe 5-A sur ses factures commerciales ou toute autre document commercial et fournir à l’importateur une copie de sa licence d’exportation. Conformément au paragraphe 4 de l'annexe 5-A, les Parties ne peuvent compter aucun produit par rapport au contingent lié à l’origine annuel sans cette référence.

5.3 Comment présenter une demande de licence

5.3.1 L’information relative au processus de demande d’une licence, incluant l’information sur les droits applicables, le système de facturation mensuelle et les renseignements que doivent fournir les demandeurs, est disponible sur le site web d’Affaires mondiales Canada : Demande de licence d’exportation (produit non stratégique)

6.0 Contactez-nous

6.1 Nos coordonnées sont disponible sur le site internet d'Affaires mondiales Canada : Contactez-nous.

6.2 Pour l’assistance-annuaire, veuillez composer le 343-203-6820 ou nous écrire au : tic@international.gc.ca.